The Jewish Community of Camden NJ

In a city known for soup, it is appropriate to say that over the past 200-plus years successive waves of immigrants of all ethnicities and religions have come to Camden, adding their own particular energies to the "soup" that is Camden. It is indisputable that the constant infusion of new people looking to improve their situations has benefited the city throughout its history.

The Jewish community of Camden was, if not one of the larger groups in terms of numbers during the years between 1880 and 1970, certainly was one of the most visible. Active in all sorts of businesses, law, real estate, and politics, Camden's Jewish community followed the pattern that many other immigrant groups followed across America- come to the city from "the old country", raise and educate the children, and eventually follow the children who have fanned out across the country to make their way. Most embrace America fully and became citizens. Not quite the complicated and expensive process our legal system has made it in our our time, in 1905 applying for citizenship in Camden cost fifty cents for the first application and $1.50 for the final decree.

Over the years Camden had at least five different congregations; in 2012 not counting myself and my sons I would be surprised if their were five people of Jewish descent living in the city. Some families left as indicated above- the children grew up and moved on. Some left in the general pattern that occurred after World War II with the growth of the suburbs in Camden County- the mall effect, one could say. For the most part, the last families left after the 1971 riots, and after a campaign of violence was incited against white students at Camden High School in the same time frame.

The immigrants who would found Congregation Sons of Israel in Camden had organized by February of 1894. The congregation was formally born in June of 1894, and celebrated a 50-year anniversary on June 8, 1944. By 1905 there were three- the Liberty Street shul (also known as the Lichtenstein shul, B'nai Abraham, and the Shomra synagogue) at 335 Liberty Street, Congregation Ahev Zedak at 506 Spruce Street (and elsewhere), and Sons of Israel, at South 8th and Sycamore Streets. By the mid 1920s they would be joined by Congregation Beth El and Congregation Beth Israel.

On this page you will find pictures, news articles, and links to other web-pages on this site and elsewhere about Jewish people and families in Camden, events they were involved in, and related activities.  

Over the years their have been a number of articles written about the history of the Jewish community in Camden, which will be reproduced here. 


Congregation Beth El

Parkside & Congregation Beth El
Congregation Beth Israel
Congregation B'nai Abraham
The Lichtenstein Shul

Harriet Lichtenstein Ostroff as told to Milton B. Asbell

The Lichtenstein family settled in Camden in the early l890s. The family consisted of father Avrom and mother Basha, who had emigrated from Biolostok, Russia. Of particular interest to this report are two of the eight children: Morris and Hyman. The sons established a general store at 331-335 Kaighn Avenue shortly after their arrival which later developed into a department store. 

The father, Avrom, was a very religious person. As an orthodox Jew he was concerned that there was no house of prayer for the Jews of the city. To correct this he established a modest schul with the purchase of 335 Liberty Street. It was a small row house. He had it refurbished resulting in a two-story building. The first floor was the main sanctuary and the second was reserved for the women. The seats were metal, collapsible ones The second floor was converted from bedrooms into a balcony having a heavy curtain hung in front. The necessary religious artifacts were secured and services were begun. The schul even had a gentile who would take care of the housekeeping and be responsible for turning the lights on and off at the appropriate times - especially for the Sabbath.

Avrom was a very dedicated and charitable person and he took on the responsibility of supporting the schul by collecting funds from the congregants. And so it prospered conducting daily and Sabbath and holiday services for the community. It soon became known as "The Lichtenstein Schul." For more than a generation the schul was the only religious home until the early 1920s when having to be incorporated as a tax-free institution, the name was changed to B'nai Abraham. It honored Avrom with the anglicizing his name. 

Other synagogues were established such as the Congregation Sons of Israel on Eighth Street. It was affectionately known as "the Eighth Street Schul." Later when the Camden Jews moved to the suburbs (Parkside), Beth El was the first Conservative schul.

Philadelphia Inquirer - August 26, 1893
Policeman Lee - Policeman O'Brien - Andrew Borden - Jacob Souders - Soth 2nd Street - Pine Street
R.T. Robinson & Company - Samuel K. Kires - Louis Konig - Kaighn Avenue

Philadelphia Inquirer
September 2, 1893

Trenton Evening Times - September 2, 1893

Philadelphia Inquirer - February 6, 1894

Philadelphia Inquirer - April 1, 1894

Philadelphia Inquirer - April 4, 1894
Isaac H. Weaver - Harry Wolfe

Philadelphia Inquirer - March 20, 1896
Joseph M. Engard - Charles H. Ellis - W.B.E. Miller - R.R. Miller
H.L. Hartshorn - George E. Martin - John L. Westcott - Benjamin Braker - E.E. Reed Jr. - A.F. Schultz
Joseph Potter - Edwin Hillman - George G. Felton

Philadelphia Inquirer - February 16, 1897
J.E. Blank - H. Oberfeld - Philip Auerbach

Philadelphia Inquirer - April 8, 1897
South 5th Street - Chestnut Street

Philadelphia Inquirer - June 20, 1897
Sons of Abraham

Philadelphia Inquirer - September 28, 1897
Furey's Hall - South 4th Street - Kaighn Avenue

Philadelphia Inquirer - October 7, 1897
Furey's Hall - Newton Hall

Philadelphia Inquirer - March 4, 1898
South 5th Street - Chestnut Street - South 8th Street Sycamore Street
Maennerchor Hall - Kayser's Hall - Newton Hall

DECEMBER 19, 1898

On December 19, 1898 an indenture was recorded by the Register of Deeds for Camden County, New Jersey for to 335 Liberty Street to Congregation Sons of Israel, who were acquiring the property from Stephen Abdill and his wife Susannah. The Abdills had acquired the property on February 1, 1886 from James and Serania Bowen, according to the deed. (Book 233, pages 567-569, Camden County NJ). 


Philadelphia Inquirer - March 23, 1901

Sons of Israel - South 4th Street - Liberty Street - Rabbi David Shane
Annie Pauline Alberts - Isaac Alberts - Philip Sirisky -
Kaighn Avenue - David Forman - Sarah Alberts Forman

Philadelphia Inquirer - September 20, 1901

It is interesting to note that by September of 1901, the local Jewish community had been so much a part of American life that its participation in the mourning of the late President William McKinley was noted alongside that of the Christian churches in the city.

Frank Auerbach - Joseph Roterman - Judge Charles G. Garrison

Philadelphia Inquirer - May 30, 1903
Joseph Nowrey

Philadelphia Inquirer - September 7, 1903
William E. Albert

Philadelphia Inquirer - October 3, 1903
South 5th Street - Spruce Street

Philadelphia Inquirer - November 7, 1903
South 5th Street - Spruce Street
J.G. Blank - E.J. Weinstein - William Fox - Harry Pinsky

Philadelphia Inquirer - December 2, 1903
Francis Ford Patterson Jr. - Charles Thompson - Market Street
Calvary Presbyterian Church - St. Paul's Episcopal Church
Rev. Arthur W. Spooner

DECEMBER 17, 1903

On December 19, 1898 an indenture was recorded by the Register of Deeds for Camden County, New Jersey for a property consisiing of three lots at the southeast corner of South 8th Street and Sycamore Street to Congregation Sons of Israel, who were acquiring the property from George W. Jessup (Book 280, pages 159-160, Camden County NJ). 


Philadelphia Inquirer - December 19, 1903
Sons of Israel - South 8th Street - Sycamore Street

Philadelphia Inquirer - June 2, 1904
Adath Israel - South 5th Street - Spruce Street

Philadelphia Inquirer - June 28, 1904
Sons of Israel - South 8th Street - Sycamore Street - Rabbi David Shane

Philadelphia Inquirer - August 27, 1904
Sons of Israel - South 8th Street - Sycamore Street - Joseph Nowrey

Philadelphia Inquirer - August 29, 1904
Sons of Israel - South 8th Street - Sycamore Street - Joseph Nowrey

Philadelphia Inquirer - September 7, 1904
Adath Israel - South 5th Street - Spruce Street - Harry Pinsky 
Louis Cades - William Fox - Harry Howritz - William Blank
Philiip Auerbach - Nathan Fuhrman - J.H. Perskie
Jacob Weinstein -  Harry Nuerer

NOVEMBER 14, 1904

On November 14, 1904 Abraham Lichtenstein purchase 335 Liberty Street from Mary Grumley of National Park, New Jersey. Real Estate records indicate that on December 19, 1903 Congregation Sons of Israel, having acquired the property at South 8th Street and Sycamore Street, sold 335 Liberty Street to Rachel and Barzilla Johnson. The Johnsons subsequently sold the property to Mary Grumley in May of 1904.

As of this writing I do not know what the nature of the rift the split the Jewish community, with Sons of Israel going to South 8th & Sycamore Street, and others staying at 335 Liberty Street - PMC


Philadelphia Inquirer - December 5, 1905
Sons of Israel - South 8th Street - Sycamore Street
1905 Odessa Pogrom - William Fox

Philadelphia Inquirer - December 9, 1905
USS Washington ACR-11 

Philadelphia Inquirer - March 9, 1908
Jacob Silver - Jacob Weitzman - Seventh Ward Republican Club
Camden Manual Training & Hgh School - Kenwood Avenue
Tabernacle M.E. Church

Jewish Exponent
December 4, 1908

Young Daughters of Zion
of Camden

Camden Zion Society

Miss R. Sirisiky - Miss A. Wax
Miss A. Markowitz - Miss A. Lewis
Miss S. Bloom - Miss Y. Segal
Miss R. Kantor - Miss L. Makarow
Miss S. Kress - Miss H. Green
Miss A. Kline - Benjamin Natal
W. Lashman - I. Lampert
S.F. Kantor - N. Segal
H. Ross - N. Ruttenberg
J. Joffe - S. Hermann
Samuel F. Kahn
Samuel Heine
Miss Rae Obus

Click on Image to Enlarge

Trenton Evening Times - July 6, 1909
Rabbi Morris Goldberg

Philadelphia Inquirer - February 7, 1910
Rose Koplan - David Koplan - Charles Levy - South 2nd Street
Rabbi Jacob Rudderman

Philadelphia Inquirer - February 14, 1910
RRabbi Nachman Heller

Philadelphia Inquirer - August 10, 1910
Sons of Israel

Philadelphia Inquirer - August 24, 1910
Rabbi Isaac Minsky - Sons of Israel

Philadelphia Inquirer - October 17, 1910

Philadelphia Inquirer - November 23, 1910
Vindex Club
Samuel Melnik - Harry Teitelman - Max Cooperman - Joseph Weinberg

Philadelphia Inquirer - March 14, 1911

Philadelphia Inquirer - September 24, 1911

Philadelphia Inquirer - November 11, 1911
Sons of Israel
A. Eskin - H. Freedman -  Charles Matt - J. Weitzman - Samuel Albert

Philadelphia Inquirer - November 20, 1911

Philadelphia Inquirer - August 2, 1912
Benjamin Natal - Joseph F. Kantor - Max Goldich - Philip M. Pinsky
Bertrand Schneeberg - Arnold Weiss - Samuel Heine -
Jacob Furer
Israel Heine

Philadelphia Inquirer - August 25, 1912
Baring Street

Philadelphia Inquirer
September 13, 1912

Philadelphia Inquirer - April 16, 1913

Philadelphia Inquirer - December 26, 1913

Philadelphia Inquirer - January 24, 1914
Benjamin Natal - Joseph F. Kantor - Max Goldich - Mark Obus - Dr. William M. Lashman - Arnold Weiss
Bertrand Schneeberg -
Jacob Furer - Broadway Theatre - Sig Schoenagle - Charles H. Ellis

Philadelphia Inquirer - January 26, 1914
Benjamin Natal - Joseph F. Kantor - Max Goldich - Mark Obus - Dr. William M. Lashman - Arnold Weiss
Bertrand Schneeberg -
Jacob Furer - Broadway Theatre 

Philadelphia Inquirer - February 10, 1914
Harry Greenberg - Milton Manheimer
Max Lewis - Mitchell Blank - Benjamin Natal - Joseph F. Kantor
Max Goldich - Mark Obus - Arnold Weisss - Bertrand Schneeberg Broadway Theatre -
Jacob Weinberg - Meyer Wessel - Jacob Furer

Philadelphia Inquirer - March 11, 1915

Philadelphia Inquirer - March 26, 1915
Arch Street - Congregation Ahev Zedak - North Camden
Bernard Levin - Louis Levin - Max Greenberg - Jacob Tarter

Philadelphia Inquirer - May 20, 1915
Baring Street

Philadelphia Inquirer
October 16, 1916

Congregation Ahev Zedak
Post No. 5 G.A.R.
William Sterling
Harry Lutz
William Rothman
Israel C. Kress
Jacob Dash
Morris Kress
Samuel Matter
Jacob Tarter
Louis Levin
Max Greenberg 

Philadelphia Inquirer
October 16, 1916

Samuel Macklin
Fannie Lashman
Harry Greenberg
Harry Teitelman
Meyer Teitelman
Benjamin Natal
Aaron Levin
J.Z. Blank
Julia Silver
Louis Mackler
Mark Obus
Sue Tubis
Florence Frisch
Jacob Weinberg
Meyer Wessel
Jacob Furer
Bernard Bertman
Sig Schoenagle
Israel Heine

Philadelphia Inquirer - October 19, 1916
Charles H. Ellis

Bridgeton Evening News - February 12, 1917
Jacob Weinberg

JUNE 4, 1917

On June 3, 1917 the Young Men's and Young Women's Hebrew Association of Camden, New Jersey purchased 572 and 574 Walnut Street from Smith C. Moore and his wife Elizabeth, for the sum of $4,000 as recorded in Camden County's real estate records, Book 418, pages 296 and 297. On the same the Young Men's and Young Women's Hebrew Association of Camden, New Jersey purchased 570 Walnut Street from Joseph F. and Mary C. Marck for $2100, as recorded in Camden County's real estate records, Book 418, pages 297 and 298.


Philadelphia Inquirer - July 4, 1917
Meyer Wessel - Dr. Philip Wenkos - A. Rosenfelt - J. Heine - Mark Obus
Abe Fuhrman - Samuel Mackler - Isaac Frisch -
Jack Weinberg - Jacob L. Furer
Arnold Weiss - Harry Greenberg

Philadelphia Inquirer - April 13, 1918
Benjamin Natal - Israel Weitzman - Harry Albert - Hyman Bloom
Louis Tartar -  Samuel Mackler - Isaac Frisch - Morris Berman
Edward Seeholtz - David Lefkowitz - Julius Sakin

Philadelphia Inquirer - April 20, 1918
David Baird Sr. - Benjamin Natal - Charles H. Ellis
Abe Fuhrman - Samuel Mackler - Mark Obus - Morris Berman

Philadelphia Inquirer - April 29, 1918
Towers Theater - Broadway - Pine Street - Charles H. Ellis - John B. Kates - Garfield Pancoast
Benjamin Natal - Abe Fuhrman - Samuel Mackler - Mark Obus - Morris Berman

Philadelphia Inquirer - May 4, 1918
Walnut Street

Philadelphia Inquirer - June 8, 1918
Walnut Street - Louis Brenner

Philadelphia Inquirer - June 14, 1918
Mrs. Anna Shane - Samuel Shane - Pauline Myer

Philadelphia Inquirer - June 14, 1919
Israel Weitzman - Hyman Bloom
Joseph Varbalow - Benjamin Simon - Benjamin Natal

Philadelphia Inquirer - December 8, 1918
Morris Berman - Rabbi Naftali Riff - Sons of Israel - 

Philadelphia Inquirer - June 1, 1921
Samuel Shane - Sons of Israel

Philadelphia Inquirer - October 1, 1921
B'nai B'rith - Sig Schoenagle - Abe Fuhrman - Bernard Bertman

Philadelphia Inquirer - October 3, 1921
Congregation Beth El - Parkside - Rabbi Solomon Grayzel

NOVEMBER 17, 1921

On November 17, 1921 Congregation Beth El acquired land on Park Boulevard, adjacent to their newly built synagogue on Belleview Avenue, upon which the main sanctuary of Beth El was built a few years later. The land was purchased for $8,000 from former Mayor Cooper B Hatch.


Philadelphia Inquirer - April 30, 1922

Hyman Bloom - Samuel Tartar - Israel Weitzman - Herman Natal

Philadelphia Inquirer - April 30, 1922
Hyman Bloom - Samuel Tartar - Israel Weitzman - Herman Natal

Woodbury Daily Times - June 14, 1922
Dora harrison - Fred Sirisky - Rabbi Naftali Riff - Sons of Israel - N. Friedenberg
S. Epstein - M. Kusliner - K. Goldstein - Arthur Sirisky - Raymond Sirisky

Philadelphia Inquirer - July 9, 1922
Dr. M.H. Spare

Philadelphia Inquirer
November 13, 1922

Rabbi Naftali Riff - Cantor Mickleman - Lewis Liberman
Rabbi Solomon Grayzel - Samuel Bashlow - Dora Yuschinsky

June 18, 1924

On June 18, 1925 Camden Talmud Torah, Inc. purchased the land at 621 Kaighn Avenue from David Jentis & Co., Inc. for $10,000. 


Talmud Torah
621 Kaighn Avenue
Photographs taken November 1, 2003 

From a draft of history of Community Center life in Camden, written for the dedication of the cornerstone of the Jewish Community Center on Route 70 in Cherry Hill, 1955


by Jacob L. Furer

The committee in charge of ceremonies for the new Camden County Community Center cornerstone laying in May 1955 requested a short resume of the beginnings if community center life in Camden County, the lull, and revival, and the writer was selected by reason of his having 
been many times president of the Y.M.H.A. and having held office and his interest in the New Jersey State Federation of Y.M.H.A.'s. In order to keep this article brief names are being omitted as it would be impossible to compile a list of former active members without forgetting some along the line and we wish to pay tribute to all of them, living or dead, who ever were associated with the Y.M.H.A. and Y.W.H.A.

About 1910 a group of boys in their teens and early twenties interested in athletics organized the Vindex Club in Camden and met on Kaighns Avenue near Broadway and incorporated in 1911 and carried on social and athletic programs.

Early in 1011 another group of boys in their teen and early twenties less interested in athletics and more interested in an educational and cultural organization organized the first Y.M.H.A. of Camden and incorporated in July 1912.

Both organizations met in separate rented quarters and faced facts and believe in the notion "in union their is strength" and agreed both programs could be carried out in one organization and both groups were formed into Y.M.H.A.-Vindex, consolidated in March 1914 and 
thereafter took in a much younger group that had grown up the K.O.T. (Keep on Trying) and meetings were held in rented quarters around Broadway and Kaighn Avenue, Camden N.J. until May, 1917, during which time the girls had organized the Y.W.H.A. which was incorporated May, 1917, and later that month a holding company Y.M. & Y.W.H.A. was formed to take title to property at 6th and
Walnut Streets, Camden, N.J. which had been purchased for the future 
home, later expanded with a $25,000 auditorium, used also as a gym and dance floor with recreational facilities in basement with pool tables and three old frame dwellings in front were continued to be used for small meetings and Sunday School classes which were conducted in English and caused first secession from the Y. of those of strict orthodox faith who felt the youth were being led astray. Those affiliated with Congregations, especially Sons of Israel, called 8th Street Synagogue, organized the Talmud Torah for teaching of Hebrew to the children. 

Later the Y. wanted a sermon in English at the High Holy Day services and when it could not be gotten rented the dance floor over the Towers Theater at Broadway and Pine Streets, Camden, N.J. and ran our own holiday services and had a dynamic rabbi, I think his name was 
Grossman and conducted it on a high plane with no selling of honors at the services, having arranged this all in advance, and conducted the services for a few years and eventually from it grew the ideal of a group who organized
Beth El Synagogue, a conservative synagogue still 
existing in the community.

At the dedication of the new auditorium we felt we wanted to get away from all the old fashioned way of selling honors and decided that no one was to have any honor and we had to raise money so we invited everyone to banquet for which they would pay and told them the purpose was to solicit their contributions to help pay for the auditorium and we raised $3,300, a sizeable amount in 1919. While we conducted our own successful campaign we aided the big cities throughout the State in their campaigns and many of the men and women in the Y. used to travel one end of the State to the other in the work. In addition our athletic teams were good and our basketball team was acclaimed throughout the East and many of our men and women who grew up in the Y. became leaders in the community and in their chosen professions and business 
lives and have continued to be active in civic and Jewish communal life.

We had the highest cultural type of lectures and had judges, civic leaders and Russell Conwell with his famous "Acres of Diamonds" lecture and all went well, even with the internal politics, which produced the greatest array of parliamentarians and extemporaneous speakers found everywhere and a monthly magazine the "Beacon" that was cited many times for its format and material, until about 1922 and early in 1923 when a couple of the older leaders fell out with the local political machine in the City of Camden and in their personal desire to oppose 
gradually filtered speakers into the Y. programs of supposed educational and cultural value and then came out into the open and brought in partisan political speakers over the opposition of the few who wanted no political speakers of either side brought in. This disrupted the harmony and the Y. prestige drifted downward until the crash of 1929 and shortly thereafter it died a lingering death heavily in debt. While the building stands and is now occupied as a church the spirit of communal life slept through two decades with abortive efforts made to revive it off and on until the present time.

Having lived in this County for 50 years and having been associated with communal life for 44 years may we be permitted to observe that we have not withdrawn, but have stepped aside that youth may be served and we will always be ready and willing to give out advice and trust the 
lessons and horrible experiences of the past will not be repeated, namely no politicians in the Center and it cannot afford to have what it cannot pay for.

Jacob L. Furer

Zelda Lutz
Bernard Dubin

Above draft may be corrected, edited, cut, mangled, 
expanded without hurting my feelings. 


This was published in a small Business Directory by the Jewish Federation circa 1960


by Jacob L. Furer

The earliest Jewish settlers came to Camden in the late 19th century and were primarily small merchants in the business district. Following the typical pattern of establishing a synagogue as the first expression of the needs of a Jewish community, Congregation Sons of Israel was founded in 1894. 

The following year B'nai Abraham was organized. This congregation has always been referred to as "Lichtenstein's Shul," in respect to its chief benefactor who made possible its small building. Both synagogues were Orthodox, located on the fringe of the Broadway business area where most of the Jewish people resided with their businesses. The first Rabbi in Camden was a "shtut rov," a community Rabbi, ministering to all congregations and deciding all questions of religious law. [Louis Segal appears to have filled this role in the late 1900s and into the 1910s, when Rabbi Naftali Riff arrived in Camden to take on this position. Rabbi Riff did not have a congregation of his own until Sons of Israel was built- PMC]

With religious needs satisfied, social groups were organized as a young generation matured. Among the earliest was the Y.M.H.A., organized about 1907, followed a few years later by the Y.W.H.A. A merchants' league with a social purpose wp'ose membership included the adults was also organized. About 1912 the Y.M.H.A., Y.W.H.A., Vindex Club and the "KOT" (Keep On Trying) Social League merged into the Y.M. and Y.W.H.A. and became part of the State Y.M.H.A. movement. 

Several row houses on Walnut Street near 6th were purchased to serve as a social center. An addition to the buildings was later constructed to provide a dance hall and a gym. Sunday school classes were subsequently organized at the "Y" and in the 1920's the group rented facilities in the neighborhood to conduct High Holy Day services. This was an expression of the desire of the younger people to plan services which they termed "more modern." As Jewish persons moved into North Camden another synagogue, Ahav Zedak, was founded to serve that area. Orthodox congregations were often small neighborhood religious centers to which people could walk in keeping with Orthodox law. However, Sons of Israel, because of the influence of its Rabbi and leadership, became the largest and most influential Orthodox congregation in the community. Persons joined this congregation from all parts of Camden. In more recent years members of some of the Conservative congregations also held membership in Sons of Israel. 
Along with the synagogue, religious education for the children was the greatest concern of the community. The Jewish community of Camden, consisting primarily of recent arrivals from Eastern Europe, was largely Orthodox in its orientation. Synagogues were basically houses of worship and children were taught by devout and pious men at home on a private basis or at the Talmud Torah, the community school founded in the last decade of the 19th century. Two houses on Baring Street. became the school. It was supported by small weekly tuition payments by those able to pay and by the efforts of the Talmud Torah Association which raised funds for the school. A growing community outgrew these makeshift school facilities and in 1921 a new building at 621 Kaighns Avenue was erected. This served not only as a school but also had an auditorium for meetings and some rooms in the basement to house Jewish transients in keeping with Jewish tradition. 

With the growth of the Parkside residential area to which many Jewish families moved from the downtown business area at the end of World War I, a new congregation, Beth El was established in Parkside in 1920, Conservative in orientation, which soon became the largest congregation in the community. 

With the population growth of the community, its separation into different residential areas, differences in religious orientation. the development of a new Conservative congregation, which attracted to its membership some who until then utilized the "Y" for school and services, the "Y" was no longer the focal point for all young people. These factors along with the severe economic depression of the 1930's resulted in the Y.M. and Y.W.H. A. losing its building and passing out of existence about 1932.

Paralleling these developments, the Jewish community in 1922 organized what was then known as the Federation of Jewish Charities to raise funds to support the Talmud Torah and its building, a Ladies' Aid Society, and at a later date even provided for an "orphanage" which was housed in a private home. Very few children were actually placed in the home.

Subsequently, as a result of the depression of the 1930's an other women's group was founded in Parkside whose leadership was associated with Congregation Beth El to assist those in need living in this area. 

In the mid 1920's when the number of Jewish families in the East Camden area warranted, they formed another congregation to serve that area. Congregation Beth Israel, on the "east side," met in a converted large house and meeting hall which served as the synagogue until 1951 when it relocated to its present building. 

The first organized Jewish community residing in what is now known as the suburbs of Camden led to the organization in 1928 of a synagogue in Merchantville and shortly thereafter there was formed the Suburban Hebrew Association, the forerunner of Congregation Beth Sholom in Haddon Heights. Recognizing that there was interdependence among these communities, the Suburban Hebrew Association sought in the 1930's assistance from the Federation to finance and maintain its small Hebrew school in order to achieve stability in its operation. A basic task of the Federation actually became financing Jewish education. The Jewish community at that time conducted two fundraising drives each year; one for local needs and the other in behalf of overseas Jewish needs. This was in addition to the appeal of the Parkside Ladies' Aid Society. The leadership of these various efforts recognized the desirability of merging these fund raising drives and this led in 1937 to a re-organization of the Federation of Jewish Charities into one agency for assisting the needy by a consolidation of both ladies' aid societies which was to receive its funds from the Federation. The central campaign would also support all Hebrew schools in order to strengthen their programs and provide financial 
stability. The overseas campaign was still separately conducted by the Federation with the help of what was then the United Palestine Appeal. 

This unity of the local causes led to greater cooperation among all for all causes which affect the welfare of the Jewish community. As the Jewish population grew to almost 6000 by 1940. the leadership decided to make another bold step forward recognizing that there were many unmet needs which the community should strive to achieve. An Executive Director was appointed for the Jewish Federation. The Talmud Torah housed the Federation and all its activities. A youth program, the forerunner of a Community Center, was soon organized to fill the void left with the demise of the Y.M. and Y.W.H.A. The separate fund raising efforts which received under $40,000 for local and overseas needs were merged into one effort Allied Jewish Appeal.

The Federation leadership also participated with their neighbors in organizing the Community Chest in 1943 and the Federation became a charter member. A number of other needs common to the total Jewish community emerged. The great interest of the community in Jewish education led to the creation of the Bureau of Jewish Education under the Federation aegis, a cooperative effort among all the schools to improve and raise standards of education and to adopt uniform standards. 

Recognizing that "621 Kaighns Avenue," the Talmud Torah, was ill-equipped to be a community center because of its location and inadequate facilities, a movement started to build a community center. World War II with its restrictions in building and the unprecedented needs of the Jewish people overseas resulting from the Hitler era however prevented the community from exerting its total energies to raise funds for the Center. The Allied Jewish Appeal which raised $110,000 in 1945, rose to $286,000 in 1946, $317,000 the following year and reached the high mark of $367,000 in 1948, the year Israel was created. There were several unsuccessful fund raising attempts for the Center. Limited in scope, frustrating to many, these attempts did reflect the growing conviction that a Center was essential, which kept alive and in the forefront of a large portion of the community the need for one. B'rith Sholom, one of the largest fraternal and social groups in the community, had as one of its main purposes in organizing in Camden in 1941, to "serve as a friendly pressure group for a Center." 

With the rapid shift of the Jewish population from 6th and Kaighns, the Federation moved its offices into central Camden and the Talmud Torah and Sons of Israel relocated in the Parkside area. The former Talmud Torah building, for lack of any other facilities, housed a makeshift Center program. Because the building was obsolete, and unsuited for a Center, it was allowed to deteriorate and attracted fewer and fewer people. To maintain a Center program public school facilities, where available, were utilized for athletic programs in addition to some clubs in private houses under the auspices of the Center Committee of the Jewish Federation. Beginning in 1949 several major community fund raising efforts led to the completion in 1956 of the Jewish Community Center. For Camden this marked a monumental achievement in constructing a building valued at $750,000. 

At the end of World War II a rapid growth of population took place in the Jewish community. Large numbers of Jewish families moved into the community, most in the rapidly developing and widespread suburban areas. Many came from Philadelphia, attracted by the possibility of being able to reach a "suburban area" from center Philadelphia in 15 to 20 minutes. 
Expanding industries in the area attracted a large number of "white collar" professional personnel who moved into the community. These were largely young people and unaffiliated. In 1950 to meet the needs of many of these people the first "liberal" or "reform" congregation was organized and experienced a rapid growth. Holding services in rented quarters, a building program was developed and in 1959 they completed their own facilities for worship and education on the Cooper River Parkway near the Community Center. Temple Emanuel consists mainly of young new resident families, and older resident members who were mainly unaffiliated. 

Today the Jewish community numbers over 4000 families living in every part of Camden County with possibly two-thirds of all the families residing outside the city in the suburbs. Today services through the six departments described briefly in the services of the Federation are typical of those of any large cosmopolitan Jewish community and are described in detail elsewhere in this Directory. 

The Federation continues as the central body of the Jewish community 'providing its services through six departments which are described elsewhere. Over and above this the Federation is the organized arm of the total Jewish community, its planning body always ready to provide leadership, direction, activities and services for the changing needs of the Jewish community.

from the memory of Leon Weinstein

Leon Weinstein was born in Camden in 1907 and grew up on Kaighn Avenue. His mother, a widow by 1920, kept the family together, operating the family's store in the 300 block of Kaighn Avenue into the 1920s. Mrs. Weinstein and her children had moved to 1503 Wildwood Avenue by April of 1930, part of the "great migration" of Jewish families from their initial haunts on Kaighn Avenue and Broadway to the newer residential neighborhood of Parkside. Leon Weinstein became a lawyer and remained in the area until his passing in 1990. At some point late in life he wrote the following article, which covers in some detail the Jewish families of South Camden, specifically  on Kaighn Avenue, Broadway, and to a lesser extent on Haddon Avenue.

from the memory of Leon Weinstein

Years ago when Rabbi Kellman [of Congregation Beth El - PMC] suggested that I (together with a collaborator) write about the Jews of Camden, it sounded like a wonderful idea and I was interested. Today I'm still interested but I'm not so sure the idea is so wonderful. However if three persons find the following recital of some of Camden's Jews to be of some interest, I shall feel justified in having written it. 

No research has been undertaken and all the names and locations have been dredged from memory so that any errors-whether obvious or inconspicuous-- are the fault of an inadequate memory. 

It can be said that the Kaighn Avenue Jews comprised a lifeline of vital enterprises helping to make the. City of Camden into a busy, bustling, alive municipality. 

Way down Kaighn Avenue was, and is, a company selling pickle products--KAPLAN & ZUBRIN; HERMAN KAPLAN and LOU ZUBRIN. 

In the early 1900's a liquor store was conducted by the POLlVNICK family. Two daughters were EMMA and BELLA, whom I believe were public school teachers. 

The EISENBERG BROTHERS ran a wholesale paper products outfit in the 200 block of Kaighn Avenue [242 - PMC]. A nephew IRVING EISENBERG is a well known Pennsauken dentist. 

Also in that block, there was a trayfe (non-kosher - PMC) meat store operated by a relative of CANTOR MICKLEMAN named JOE (last name forgotten). The Cantor was hazzan for many years at Beth El Synagogue and raised two children, ROSE and LEON. A former president of the Synagogue, LEON MICKLEMAN took a prominent part in the affairs of the Schul and was instrumental in the furtherance of the Young Associates. 

The GERBERS have the CAMDEN BAG & PAPER CO., in the lower end of Kaighn Avenue [214-216 - PMC]

This section was known as Kaighn Point; ferries crossed the Delaware River--one line to Chestnut Street and one to South Street in Philadelphia. 

Starting at Second Street and one block south of Kaighn Avenue on Liberty Street [222-224 - PMC], stood the shoe factory of A. E. WESSEL & SONS. It was operated by the three sons-- MORRIS, MIKE and NORMAN. There was another son, HARRY and daughters DOROTHY, MAE and SHIRLEY. MORRIS' wife was BESSIE who had a dress store on Haddon Avenue. MIKE [Meyer Wessel - PMC] was a member of the board of Education of Camden. DOROTHY married DR. HYMAN GOLDSTEIN whose office was at Broadway and Atlantic Avenues.

While down this way, it might be mentioned that there was a "shvitz", the Lansdowne Avenue Baths. 

Below Third Street on the North side of Kaighn Avenue was a clothing store owned by HERMAN LEVIN known as ROCHESTER'S. The LEVIN sons, PEPPIE and YUDIE have perpetuated the name in a formal men's establishment on Route 38 in Pennsauken. 

On the Northeast corner of Third and Kaighn Avenue was BLUMSTEIN's, ladies dresses---a son LESTER, and a daughter BILLIE. 

Coming up the North side of the 300 block, there was a store used by PHILIP AUERBACH for the sale of Halloween costumes. The owner was CARL AUERBACH's father. 

All of the Jews listed herein may not have resided on the sites named, during the same decade, but the locations are reasonably accurate. 

At #315 in the block, SAM and SARA RICHELSON lived with two sons-- PAT and JAY and daughter LILA. WILLIAM GREENBERG (active in the Jewish community affairs) maintained a jewelry store. His son MORRIS became an optometrist. SHELANSKY'S (ABE, his brother VICTOR and his sister DORA) sold men's clothing.

Then there was a shoe store conducted by HERMAN ZELNICK. One of his sons continues in the same line with a store in Cherry Hill, and MARTIN is a podiatrist in East Camden.

DENKERS was a ladies wear store and a son has been with the IRS. The wives of Levin, Zelnick, and Denker were sisters [all were the children of Becky Silverman - PMC], while another married Ross the plumber.

Following these stores was a grocery at #323-1/2 Kaighn Avenue, owned by Charlie Cutler. His brother was Dr.Cutler, a dentist. After the grocery moved out, Meyer Moldoff sold ladies hosiery there. Mr. Moldoff later went into real estate and building business.

ISRAEL PALETZ came next at #325, selling ladies and men's wear. REUBEN and BEULAH were children. 

LOUIS WEINSTEIN, at 325-1/2, sold men's wear and luggage. Upon his decease, his widow, MARTHA continued the business. Children were LEON, BELLE, MORTON, SYLVIA and GERTRUDE. ALEC PALETZ had the next store and sold ladies shoes. Later JACK ROBBINS took over the store. Children were IRV, an optician; and JERRY, ladies uniforms.

And then at #329, SIGMUND HERMANN had a men's clothing store. his children were WILLIAM (who married EVE SILVERMAN), ISADORE H. "PETE" (whose wife was EDITH NEWMEYER), SAUL (married to MIRIAM PLOTNICK), and IDA (whose husband was DR. SILVERMAN, a dentist). 

LEONA CRESKOFF (active in Hadassah) together with her husband, managed a jewelry and watch repair store. 

Next in line, at 333-335 Kaighn Avenue, was the LICHTENSTEIN furniture store. His son HYMAN opened a children's wear store on Haddon Avenue above Kaighn. MR. LICHTENSTEIN was the founder of a "SHUL" conducted in a house in the 300 block of Liberty Street. Formally named CONGREGATION SONS OF ABRAHAM, it was more familiarly known as LICHTENSTEIN'S SCHUL

One of the mainstays of the Synagogue was MR. HEIMOVICH, who walked from Parkside down to the Shul on Shabbos to conduct services. He had the especially agreeable voice of an old-time hazzan that was particularly pleasant to hear. Usually accompanying him from his home were sons HERMAN and NORMAN and nephew HAROLD. The family name was later changed to HEINE. 

MAX ZUBROW had a men's furnishing store next and when he moved to a store at Broadway and Mt. Vernon, people by the name of NATKOWITZ took over. 

The BALTIMORE CLOTHES sold formal wear and was owned by MR. LEVIN (brother of HERMAN LEVIN, owner of ROCHESTERS). WILLIAM LEVIN, a son had a burglar alarm company. 

The end building of this block on the North side was occupied at one time by an Endicott Johnson shoe store run by JACK LEVINTHAL. His son STANLEY became a movie picture projectionist. 

At Third and Liberty Streets the MAX WINIGRAD family had a grocery store. MANUEL and BELLA were members as were _______________.

Also on Liberty Street lived MR. SEGAL, a Hebrew teacher and the father of DR. MEYER SEGAL and MRS. JOSEPH RUTTENBERG. 

And around the corner was the ROSENBERG BOTTLING CO. [New Jersey Bottling Company - PMC]. On the Southwest corner of Third and Kaighn Avenue was a doctor's office and pharmacy maintained by Dr. Haines and later Dr. Stimus. 

Next to this came the SOFFER ELECTRICAL CO. After Mr. Soffer died his widow ran the store with the help of her sons ABE, HARRY and GEORGE. FLORENCE and SYLVIA were daughters and another son BEN is a dentist. 

MRS. GORDON ran a used furniture and linoleum store. 

A Hay and Feed store is still on the site and other non-Jewish places were a Chinese restaurant, a printing outfit, a tobacco store, a millinery shop, a barber, a saloon, a real estate office, a hardware store and the 5th Ward Republican Club. At the end of the men's straw hat season, a string of hats was set up between poles in front of the Club and set on fire. This ritual usually was held on Labor Day. 

GEORGE BLAKER was a roofer who had three daughters-BETTY, HILDA and SELMA (SIS), who was a dedicated worker for the Beth El Synagogue. His two sons were HERBERT end ARTHUR (HUTSY). MR. BLAKER was elected a Justice of the Peace and he appointed as his Constable, SAM RICHELSON. Persons charged with minor infractions of the law were brought in to be tried before the Justice of the Peace .. The Constable, SAM, would present the case (before an interested group of neighbors) and the Judge would render a decision. 

A furniture and linoleum store run by the HESS family had two children-- GERTRUDE and MILTON (who was a pharmacist). 

When the political club went out of existence the site was taken over by WILLIAM ARENSBERG & SONS, a roofing and plumbing supply store. The sons were HARRY and DAVID. 

STEIN, a Kosher butcher was also in this block. 

Around 1905, B. WEINSTEIN & SONS opened a "clothing, boots & shoes" store. The sons were LOUIS, JOSEPH and EPHRAIM. MAMIE was a daughter. LOUIS later moved across the street to 325-1/2 and continued the business as the KAIGHN AVENUE BARGAIN STORE. EPHRAIM moved into the 400 block of Kaighn Avenue. 

Some years later a kosher restaurant was opened by the SOSENKOS--children being ANNA SOSENKO (manager of Hildegarde the Incomparable) and JAY (JAY JEROME, the outstanding leader of orchestras). 

Finishing the South side of the 300 block of Kaighn Avenue were two retail paper goods and notion stores; one held by BITMAN's and the other by H. LEWIS & SONS. 

In the early and mid 1900's the City of Camden had fine public transportation through an interlacing of trolley lines. There was a line running from Kaighn's Point out Kaighn Avenue to Haddon Avenue and returning; one that went out Third Street to North Camden and returned on Fourth Street, known as the Crosstown Line; another called the Sixth & Eighth Street Line. Other lines started at the Market Street Ferries and traversed Broadway and Haddon Avenue. Some cars were outfitted with pot bellied stoves for wintertime warmth. 

Later, the trolleys were replaced by fleets of buses. At one time, Model A Fords ran up and down Kaighn Avenue and were known as Jitneys--fare 5 cents. 

Continuing with the Jews of Kaighn Avenue; on the Northwest corner of Fourth Street and Newton Avenue was a shoe store (later ladies dresses) owned by the KLEIN family. One of the children was SIDNEY, a New York journalist. 

A men's furnishing store was run by SAM GOLDSTEIN, a retailer who obviously knew the value of advertising and publicity. His ?name was spelled out in tiles on the pavement in front of his store and he used the slogan "The Originator of the 39 cent Cap." His sons were Henry and Morris. Later, this store was owned by a Philadelphian named SNYDER and still later by SAMUEL CARP. 

The HOUSE OF RUTTENBERG at 419 Kaighn Avenue was operated by JOSEPH· and IDA RUTTENBERG as a furniture and TV store, having moved from the opposite side of the street where they formerly had a hardware store. The children were ANNA, FREDA, MELVIN and SAMUEL. A feature of the store was the continuously moving circular platform in the display window. 

YUBAS was an optometrist in this block for many years. 

STANLEY HILBRONNER began his practice of Podiatry in this same building. Later, GILBERT RUBIN moved in as an optometrist. 

Because of the business activity in the 400 block of Kaighn Avenue there were three Five & Ten Cent Stores situated here WOOLWORTH, KRESGE and McCRORY. 

At various times also in this block, many Jews had ladies dress shops. Among them were: MORRIS HANDLE, DAVID LEFKOWITZ, MAX PECK and LOUIS RICHELSON. A houseware and baby furniture store was along the line here and owned by HARRY BODNER, one of the mainstays of LICHTENSTEIN'S SCHUL. LEVINTHAL's continued their Endicott Johnson shoe store, moving from the 300 block to this 400 block on Kaighn Avenue.

In the early 1900's, 441 Kaighn Avenue was occupied by EPHRAIM WEINSTEIN, with a men's furnishing store. His wife was ROSE and their children were Leon, Alec, Ruth, and Bella. Ephraim was also a Democratic committeeman during the years that JOSEPH NOWREY served as Mayor of Camden. 

A men's hat store was run by HARRY HERMANN at 445 and at 447 ladies dresses were also sold by GREENWALD, a son-in-law of the KLEINs at Fourth and Kaighn Avenue. 

At 449 Kaighn Avenue the first QUALITY DRUG STORE was founded by SAM and FRANCES GOLDBERG. A son, MILTON was also in the business. Other drug stores by Quality were opened in various parts of the city. 

JOSEPH STERN, a true gentleman, had a store at 451 selling men's and children's wear. ANNA was his wife and MILDRED their daughter. MILDRED married SAM CARP and after JOSEPH's decease they carried on the business for a number of years. 

A Camden landmark was next door, the SUGAR BOWL, an old-fashioned ice cream parlor and soda fountain (ice cream soda - 15 cents) Much earlier a department store was situated on this corner - Toone and Hollinshead.

Starting the south side of Kaighn Avenue at #410, N.U. KATZ opened a paper goods and party novelty store. His children were Louis and Sylvia. When the founder died, his children continued the business, which is still maintained by Sylvia.

A wearing apparel store was run by Mr. Gerber, who had two daughters, Edith and Edna. Ruttenbergs was a hardware store that later moved across the street.

GILBERT RUBIN started the practice of optometry which he later moved across the street. 
HARRY ARENSBERG moved his plumbing supply store to this block from the 300 block. Another heating and plumbing supply store, trading as HENRY's was established by HENRY SCHREIBSTEIN, and when he died it was continued by his son-in-law NATHAN TRAUTENBERG. The latter's father was for many years a Mashgiach for the Tri-County Va'ad. 

At various times kosher butchers plied their trade in Camden, with several in this particular block. Among them was SIRISKY (SIRIS), LUNDY, OSTROFF, DETOFSKY, MARKOWICH, and KATZ. There were two delicatessens in the 400 block. One, LIPSCHUTZ, had a son, LEO who became a doctor. The family name was changed to DAVID. The second was LEVITSKY, who had a son, BEN, who became a dentist. The family name was shortened to LEVITT. This business was bought by BEN LAMBERSKY, whose slogan was "The Pickle King." 

At 458 Kaighn Avenue stood a three story building with an imposing facade that housed FRIEDENBERG'S, selling ladies dresses and bridal gowns. This business was conducted by NATHAN FRIEDENBERG and later by his widow, REBECCA. They had two children, RALPH and SYLVIA. MRS. FRIEDENBERG was a member of the SIRIS family; brothers, ISADORE (a dentist), RAYMOND (a lawyer), FRED (a realtor), JACOB (a butcher). Sisters, LENA, ____________.

Weinberg's Yard Goods was situated here. Their son became a doctor and went to India.

JULES SCHREIBSTBIN- and his wife SOPHlE had a hardware store. A store selling electrical supplies and lamps was owned by MEYER LEIDER, whose children were DODlE, NAOMI and JERRY (who moved to the West Coast and is involved in the movie industry). 

The Southwest corner of Broadway and Kaighn had a men's clothing store known as HESS & SEESHOLTZ which later became occupied by a LOUIS MARK shoe store, and still later by a drug store. On the opposite (Southeast) corner stands a liquor store operated by LEVICOFF Brothers, JACK and MAX. Next was RALPH PINSKY's furniture store. His sister, SARAH and brothers, HARRY, HERBERT and OSCAR were part of the family. OSCAR PINSKY is lovingly remembered for his work in the Beth EL Synagogue and especially for his strong and melodious blowing of the Shofar. 

The PENN FISH Company is at Broadway and Liberty Street, owned by HARRY COHEN, and in the next block south, HARRY LANDIS and his son SAM had the print shop known as The PROGRESSIVE PRINTING CO. From Kaighn Avenue and going north on Broadway (1100 block) were a number of Jewish merchants. Early on, MAMIE BLANK (nee WEINSTEIN) maintained a branch Post Office (children, LEON and RAYMOND). 
The ASBELL family had a fruit store; children BENJAMIN (Prosecutor SAM's father, and two sisters - ADA (married to MOE PERLOW) and SYLVIA (married to MOE WEISENFELD) An uncle ISADORE ASBELL had three children ~ LEO, MILTON (dentist) and NATHAN (doctor). 

The N.E. COTTON STORE was owned by ADOLPH HYMAN and his brother DAVID. His sister is LILLIAN who was married to VICTOR GERBER. RUTTENBERG BROS. was a furniture store which had moved from 440 Kaighn Avenue and was operated by MORRIS and SAM RUTTENBERG, son-in-law SAM SOBEL and a silent partner, DR. MAX RUTTENBERG, an eminent ear, nose and throat physician who had his office at Fourth and Cooper Streets. MORRIS had children, ROSE and LOUIS, the latter being a practicing physician. SAM RUTTENBERG had daughters, NETTIE, ROSE and GERTRUDE. There were six RUTTENBERG brothers settled in the Camden area: JOSEPH, MORRIS, SAM, ABE, SIMON and MAX, and of course, a great number of progeny. 

An Army-Navy store was conducted by BOB CHANE; working for him was his nephew WALTER RAND, who is a New Jersey State Senator. Also in this 1100 Broadway block was a ladies dress store established by LOUIS BERKOWITZ and maintained by his daughter, BLANCHE. Another daughter was ETHEL and a brother HARRY. This same block had two movie houses; the GARDEN and the PRINCESS. Further along at Newton Avenue was a third movie, the LYRIC. Other movies in Camden were the MIDWAY, SAVAR, STANLEY and GRAND

At Broadway and Newton Avenue, ZUBROW's was an Army-Navy store later taken over by JACK BALABAN, while at Chestnut Street PAUL JASPAN had a men's store. Also in this section, the PERSONALITY SHOP, selling ladies dresses maintained by sisters-, PEARL and MfLDRED JENTIS. LOUIS was a brother. 

In the 900 block of Broadway, HEINE'S furniture store was owned by SAM HEINE. His children are HAROLD, WILLIAM and JOSEPH. The HEINE brothers were SAM, AARON, ISRAEL, HERMAN and NORMAN, and sister YETTA.

CALVIN SHNEEBERG had a men's work clothes store and SOL SONSTEIN (married to BEA GORLEN) had a drug store. The GORLEN family sold ladies wear further north on Broadway.

Continuing, there was a well established jewelry store ­GREENETZ and PELIKOFF; later GREENETZ & GREENETZ - MIKE and JOE. GALANTER'S (ALICE and JOEL had. an optometry establishment with son BOB.

BARNEY and ELMER BERTMAN's family had a store around Broadway and Walnut and there was also a photographer -- JAFFE. 

LESTER ABRAHAMER conducted LESTER'S, a men's clothing store. And then there was the ELLIS shoe store with sons DR. ALEX ELLIS (physician), TED ELLIS (pharmacist) and ZELLIE ELLIS (realtor).

At 444 Broadway, ABE FUHRMAN had a jewelry store and sons JOE, JACK (lawyer) and CLARENCE FUHRMAN (musician). 

MAURICE CLYMAN's family manufactured and sold men's caps at Broadway and Washington. His wife is DORIS and daughters RENEE and BRENDA. Across the street was a ladies tailor, HERMAN STEINBERG, sons MILTON and JACK. SANDBERG'S had a grocery, sons LOU, GEORGE, and BEN. GOLDBERG's had a tobacco and newspaper store; sons GEORGE and HENRY. Other stores in this section were: LAVITT merchant tailor; children, AL, JOE and LILLIAN. GREENSTEINS with men's furnishings and BRINN'S with the same type of store. 

LILLIAN LIPKIN had a ladies wear store; her brothers JUDGE WILLIAM, JOSEPH (attorney) and HERMAN (druggist); and sisters EVA, ROSE and HANNAH. A millinery store was run by the mother and sister of DAVID VISOR, a lawyer. 

In this section of Broadway is a jewelry store owned by AL and LOU SKULNICK who had sisters FAY, ROSE and ESTHER and a brother BILLY. LEO'S a radio and TV store was owned by LEO SPECTOR; brothers JERRY, EDWARD and sister DORA.

A small department store, FUTERNICK'S was at Broadway and Stevens and diagonally opposite IRVING LEVINSKY had the LINCOLN DRUG STORE. His parents were JOSEPH and YETTA and he had a brother HARRY. His sisters were MAMIE and SADIE. 

A corrective shoe store in the 200 block of Broadway is owned by HARRY SHAPIRO and around on Federal Street was the SIG SCHOENAGLE mens wear store. 


Coming back to Kaighn Avenue on the. Northeast corner of Broadway and Kaighn ELI LEWIS had a beauty salon and on the Southeast Corner, DR. REITER had a dental office. 
KLEIN'S JEWELRY store was on the north side of the 500 block of Kaighn Avenue, followed by a family named FINE and another family, DOBRIN, both selling ladies wear. 

Across the street, DR. MEYER SEGAL had his office for the practice of medicine. A few doors away was the K&R Bakery -KUTNER & BASS. Further along, between Baring and Marion Streets, VICTOR POTAMKIN and his brother sold fish and live poultry. Later this business was conducted by the UDELL's. And on Baring Street lived ALTER BARBELL, a Hebrew teacher who also acted as a collector of pledges for the Federation of Jewish Charities. 
ISREAL ROSS, a plumber was on Sixth Street between Kaighn Avenue and Chestnut Street; MANNY ROSS and his brother have continued the business
(Ross Plumbing & Heating Company - PMC).

At Sixth and Chestnut, LOUIS TARTER had a liquor store -- his son is STANTON, a lawyer. SAM TARTER's widow, SARAH lived in Parkside with her family consisting of MORRIS, more generally known as "TOOTS", HERBERT, ROSE, EVELYN and DOROTHY.

In the 600 block of Kaighn Avenue, Mr. CABNET carried on his trade as a "shocet", killing poultry according to the Hebrew ritual. Children: MIRIAM, a caterer, and YUDIE, a chef. 
The Talmud Torah was also in this block. 

At Sixth or Seventh and Kaighn Avenue there was a slaughterhouse. It was not unusual for sheep or cows to be driven up Kaighn Avenue to be slaughtered here. 

BOUDOV'S Coal yard at Seventh and Kaighn Avenue. Children were CELIA and MINNIE. Later Mrs. RAYMOND SALTZMAN owned the coal yards. Then there was the VICTORY GARAGE owned by ED ROSEN who had brothers JOE and HYMAN.

Further along, and closer to Eighth Street were three stores; WEINERS, a grocery story; LIPMAN's with men's wear and LERMAN's selling dry goods. CELIA, MAE and STELLA and a brother DAVE were part of the WEINERS. SAUL LIPMAN married STELLA WEINER. 
Separated from these three stores by a small street (
Maurice Street - PMC) was the NADEN store selling furniture. MARY NADEN was the mother to LEON, JACK (Jacob Naden - PMC), TOM and EDWARD; also a sister. 

At Louis Street is the STOMEL wholesale tobacco and confectionary store. In the business were LOUIS, WILLIAM and SAM. In this block of Kaighn Avenue between Louis Street and Haddon Avenue, CHARLES BLAKER was in the roofing business. Three daughters: LEAH (married to SENATOR WALTER RAND); CONNIE (widow of MORRIS E. ALBERT and wife of DR. JAMES BARROWAY); and SYD (widow of DR. BENJAMIN GROSS). 

In the early 1900'5 a Motor Vehicle Department Office was set up on Kaighn Avenue just below Haddon, headed by MORRIS SHANE. He was known throughout the Camden Jewish community as the Jewish speaker at the night before election at Republican rally always held 
in the Talmud Torah Hall.

On the southwest corner of Haddon and Kaighn Avenue, a drug store owned by the BELLITZ family was later controlled by SCHWARTZ and his partner. Next comes the ELECTRICAL CENTER owned by LAWRENCE and MILTON LEWIS, selling appliances, radios and TV's. 

At Haddon and Liberty, ED BRESLOW had a gas station and on the other corner was a drug store owned by GERSON AZOFF, whose daughters were FREDA and REBA. On the other side of Haddon Avenue at Bradley Avenue, MORRIS ALTER had a candy store, MORRIS BLOOM had a fruit store, and ISAAC MARGULIS sold ladies stockings. Next door, MAX CYLINDER sold auto parts and supplies. His wife was LILYAN, one of the NEWMAN sisters; the others being SHIRLEY, EDITH and MILDRED, who was married to HENRY BLUM, and known to all the community as "NEUMIE". ROSE RUBINSTEIN had a store selling ladies underwear and later she married MORTON WEINSTEIN. A family shoe store was operated by HARRY GOLDBERG and the corner building was the PARKSIDE TRUST CO. 
Across Kaighn Avenue, REUBEN SINGER had RUBY'S DELICATESSEN. His wife RAE and he had a son GILBERT and a daughter, DEENA. Later this site became ROSNER'S, selling hardware and operated by brothers ABE, MARTY and AL. 

Up Kaighn Avenue at Kenwood DR. LASHMAN had his office. Across the street, EDEL EVANTASH, had his home and real estate office. His wife was REBECCA and their children were DAVID (married to HENRIETTA), NATHAN (married to BEATTY), ESTHER (wife of ALLAN BROWN), BETTY (wife of LEON WEINSTEIN) and TILLIE (wife of MILTON STERNBERG). Also in this part of Kaighn Avenue, Dr. STANLEY BERNELL and at another point in time, DR. SAM GOLDMAN had offices. 

Back at Haddon Avenue and going north from Kaighn Avenue there was a toy store run by JOSEPH YENCOFF. He had five daughters, SARAH, GUSSIE, JANE, RAE and BEATTY. JANE'S SWEET SHOP was next door and was operated by JANE and KEAT MATT. Later, HARRY LEMERMAN took over the toy store. HARRY is married to the former ANNE EPSTEIN. 

MRS. BLOOM had a fruit and produce store. Her children were ANNA, MORRIS, ABE, MINNIE, SAM, DAISY, JENNIE and MOLLIE. Later on MOLLIE and her husband, SAM ZINMAN had a sandwich shop at this same location. 

A very busy grocery store was located in this block and conducted by BILL BEZAHLER. 

AL BERUL who had married ANNA RUTTENBERG sold records, music supplies and musical instruments. On the corner of Haddon and Wildwood Avenue was a doctor's office conducted by DR. RHONE, and later LEWIN'S opened a ladies accessories store, and still later LOU and BEA MILLER sold chidren's wear there. 

Across Haddon Avenue closer to Park Boulevard was located HAIKEN'S TOY STORE. 
Coming back on Haddon Avenue towards Kaighn, HERMAN NATAL had a real estate office and together with his wife HATTIE had two sons, EDWARD and ROBERT. EDWARD married REBA ALTER and they had two children, SAM and LYNNE. The BEN FRANKLIN store, a five and ten cent store was maintained by Mr. GORDON. Next came another Camden movie, the PARKSIDE, a great place to get dishes each week. ADELE BORSTEIN had her ladies dress store and on the corner, SOL'S DRUGSTORE was run by AL SOLOMON, with the busiest soda fountain in town. 

This ends the saga of Camden Jews, as relates to Kaighn Avenue and Broadway with hundreds more uncounted in the neighborhoods of East Camden, North Camden and Parkside. 

* * * * * * * * * * 


There have been many Jewish families in Camden where more than one family member's life and times are well worth noting. Just to get things started, I've named a few..... if you don't see your Camden Jewish family here, TELL me, and I'll address that faster than you can say Mogen David! 

E-mail Phil Cohen with comments, criticism, and corrections!

Planned Pages are in Black

The Tarter Family of Camden NJ

Herbert Tarter

Morris Tarter

Samuel Tarter

The Solomon Goldstein Family

Solomon J. & Rose Goldstein

Dr. Hyman Goldstein

Dr. Leopold Goldstein

Dr. Henry Goldstein

Dr. Louis Marshall Goldstein

Dr. David E. Cooper

 Bernard Z. Cooper

The Abraham Wessel Family

Meyer Wessel

Norman Wessel

The Fuhrman Family

Clarence Fuhrman

Charles J. Fuhrman

Abe Fuhrman

The Steinberg Family

Ben Zion Steinberg

 David Steinberg

Samuel A. Steinberg

Isaiah Steinberg

Milton Steinberg

Saul Steinberg

The Varbalow Family

Joseph A. Varbalow

Samuel Varbalow

The Natal Family

Benjamin Natal

The Ross Family

Isreal Ross

The Silverman Family

Fannie Silverman

The Auerbach Family

Mair Auerbach

Carl Auerbach

Philip Auerbach

Isaac L. Auerbach

Carole Saline


Congregation Beth El

William M. Hoffman, Jr.

Ligonier, PA
Professor Emeritus, Rutgers University

502 Broadway

Ahev Zedak
Faith Baptist Church

July 10, 2004

Israel Weitzman's
Union Bottling Company

Louis & Chestnut Street

11 Ounce Deposit Bottle
from the
S. Tarter Bottling Company
1142 South 6th Street
Camden N. J.

Click on Image to Enlarge

Philadelphia Inquirer - July 11. 1922

1924-1925 Y.M.H.A. Basketball Team

Click on Image to Enlarge

Camden Courier-Post
January 4, 1928

Hotel Walt Whitman
Congregation Beth El
Meyer Sakin
Congregation Ahev Zedek
Rabbi Nachman Arnoff
Joseph A, Varbalow
Lewis Liberman

Dr. David Cooper
Dr. Leopold Z. Goldstein
Herman Odlen
Fred Siris
Hyman James
Nathan Friedenberg
Maurice Wessell
Samuel Varbalow
Ellis Goodman

Benjamin Shindler
B'nai B'rith
Camden's Jewish Community

Camden Courier-Post

January 7, 1928

Hotel Walt Whitman
Congregation Beth El
Congregation Ahev Zedek
Rabbi Nachman Arnoff
Rabbi Archie Davidson
Lewis Liberman
Meyer Sakin -
Dr. David Cooper
Dr. Leopold Z. Goldstein
Herman Odlen - Fred Siris
Hyman James - Nathan Friedenberg
B'nai B'rith
Camden's Jewish Community


February 21, 1928

Kaighn Avenue

Mrs. H. Barroway
Mrs. L. Blumenstein
Mrs. A.E. Friedberg
Mrs. S. Rosenberg
I. Siris

Black Cat Orchestra


December 28, 1928

On December 28, 1928 Congregation Sons of Abraham gained tile to 1353 Park Boulevard for the sum of $1 from a widow, Mrs. Freda Markowitz.


Trenton Evening Times - September 9, 1929
Congregation Beth El - Parkside - Rabbi Solomon Grayzel

Camden Courier-Post - February 21, 1928

Don Rose - YMHA & YWHA - Beth El - Walnut Street
Anna Weiss - Mrs. Abe Fuhrman - Mrs. A.E. Friedberg
Mrs. H. Denbo - Miss Mary Praissman
Mrs. A. Levin - Mrs. M. Obus - Mrs. L. Weiss - Mrs. P. Wendkos
Miss Rhea Lichtenstein - Miss Reba N. Obus
Miss Clara Polivnick - Miss Sophia Tubis 

American Jewish Yearbook for 1931-1932
Jewish Publication Society of America, Philadelphia PA - 1931



Dale, H., Haddon Book Bindery


Adlen, R., 1455 Broadway
Arnoff, Rabbi Nachman, 1254 Langham Avenue 
Brown, Barney B., 1222 Langham Avenue
Conston, H., 707 Broadway
Cooper, Dr. David E., 1314 Broadway 
Cooperson, Leon, 40 North 4th Street
Feldman. J., 422 Kaighn Avenue 
Feldsher, R., 800 Broadway
Fine, Florence, 520 Kaighn Avenue
Fox, P., 1122 Broadway
Fridrick, H. E., 2587 Baird Boulevard
Fuhrman, Abe, 444 Broadway
Furer, Jacob L., 602 Wilson Building
Goldstein, Dr. Hyman I., 1125 Broadway
Grossberg, J., 827 Broadway
Heine, Samuel, 910 Broadway 
Hermann, I. H., 300 Broadway
Jaspan, H., 631 Grant Street
Kaplan, S., 804 Wilson Building
Levy, W. H., 2554 Baird Boulevard
Liberman, Lewis, 307 Market Street
Lichtenstein, H. S., 1450 Wildwood Avenue
Markowich. H. W., 1277 Kenwood Avenue
Markowich, S. N., 1221 Haddon Avenue
Markowitz, L. L., 808 Broadway
Marritz, Mark, 521 Cooper Street
Miller, S. N., 548 Federal Street
Naden, Jacob, 773 Kaighn Avenue
Natal, Benjamin, 1491 Greenwood Avenue
Newman, A., 1178 Haddon Avenue
Ostroff, William, 1196 Haddon Avenue
Palitz, Sarah L., 514 Federal Street
Polivnick. Miss Clara, 1449 Ormond Avenue
Rose, Leon H., 511 Income Insurance Building (300 Broadway)
Rosenfeld, R. H., 3046 Federal Street
Udell, W., 504 Kaighn Avenue
Visor, David L., 23 Broadway
Weitzman, I., 1456 Haddon Avenue
Yuschinsky, Miss Dora E., 520 Liberty Street
Zinman, Philip, 548
Federal Street

Camden Courier-Post * October 29, 1931


David Baird, Jr., Republican nominee for governor, will make his final appearance in the current election campaign Monday night, in his "own home town," when he will address a monster rally at the Hebrew Republican League, at the Talmud Torah, 621 Kaighn avenue.

The Hebrew league reorganized formally at a luncheon in the Hotel Walt Whitman. Lewis Liberman, assistant city solicitor, was elected president; Sig Schoenagle, Samuel Shaner, Israel Weitzman, vice-presidents; L. Scott Cherchesky, secretary, and Samuel Label, treasurer.

Trustees of the league include Hyman Bloom, Mitchell E. Cohen, Benjamin Friedman, Jacob L. Furer, Isadore H. Hermann, Carl Kisselman, Edward Markowitz, Louis L. Markowitz, Harry Obus, Maurice L. Praissman, Samuel Richelson, Meyer L. Sakin, Julius Rosenberg, Jacob Rosenkrantz and Jack Weinberg.

In addition to former Senator Baird, speakers at the Jewish rally will include Mrs. Elizabeth C. Verga, Republican state committeewoman and vice chairman of the county committee; Congressman Charles A. Wolverton, Congressman Benjamin Golder, of Pennsylvania, and State Senator Samuel Salus, of Pennsylvania.

Camden Courier-Post - March 19, 1932


The eleventh annual ball of the Congregation Beth-El, and Council of Jewish Women is to be held next Wednesday evening in the auditol'iu1l1 of Beth-El Synagogue, Belleview avenue and Park Boulevard.

The committee headed by Albert B. Melnik has arranged a program of entertainment. In addition to obtaining a nationally known group of entertainers, the committee has engaged a band to furnish music for dancing.

The ticket committee headed by Norman I. Wessel.

Camden Courier-Post * June 2, 1932

Rabbi N.Z. Riff - Talmud Torah - S.S. Lewis
Samuel Shane -
Kaighn Avenue

Camden Courier-Post - June 3, 1933


Plans for summertime activities to be conducted by the Hebrew Educational Center of Camden will be made at a meeting of the Hebrew Parent-Teacher Association Monday night.

The association will meet at 1142 South Sixth Street.  

Camden Courier-Post - June 4, 1933
Funds to Aid Women's Home,
Talmud Torah and Free Loan

A campaign to raise funds for the Federation of Jewish' Charities of Camden was launched yesterday under the chairmanship of E. George Aaron. The drive will continue a week.

Funds raised will be contributed to the support of the Hebrew Ladies' Sheltering Home, the Talmud Torah, and the Free Loan Fund.

The campaign, Aaron' announced, will be aided by the Jewish charitable organizations of Camden and the following have been named team captains:

Rabbi N. Riff, Samuel Shane, L. Tarter, S. Lippman, A. Barbell, J. Grossberg, H. Odlen, Leon Rose, Lewis Liberman, Mrs. S. Litow, Mrs. M. Shapiro, Mrs. H. Kaplan, Mrs. S. Shane, Mrs. R. Bukstel. Mrs. F. Bloom, Mrs. V. Gerber and Mrs. S. S. Lewis.

There will be a meeting in the Talmud Torah tonight, when Rabbi B. L. Levinthal, of Philadelphia, will speak in support of the campaign. 

Camden Courier-Post - June 4, 1933
Junior Social Club Here Elects New Officers

Officers for the coming year were installed at the last meeting of the season of the Junior Welfare Social Club held at the Hotel Walt Whitman.

Officers installed were Miss Ida Berger, president; Miss Mildred RedIus, vice president; Mrs. Fay Friedbaum, corresponding secretary; Miss Florence Feinstein, recording secretary, and Miss Ida Cabnet, treasurer. Miss Berger succeeded Miss Edythe Plotnick. 

Plans are being made for a dinner dance to be held on June 14 by a committee headed by Miss Mary Rosenkranz.

Camden Courier-Post - June 7, 1933
Camden Federation to Continue Campaign All This Week

More than $1500 in pledges and in cash have been received in the campaign of the Camden Federation of Jewish Charities, it was announced last night by E. George Aaron, chairman of the campaign committee. The drive will continue through this week. 

Campaign workers seeking funds for the Hebrew Ladies' Charities, Sheltering Home, Camden Talmud Torah and Free Loan Fund follow: Rabbi N. Riff, Mr. and Mrs. S. Shane, Mrs. R. Bukstel, Mrs. S. Litow, Mrs. M. Shapiro, Mrs. H. Kaplan, Mrs. L. Creskoff, Mrs. B. Ostroff, Mrs. S. Goldstein Mrs. A. Goodman, Mrs. S. Masel, Mrs. M. Koll, Mrs. F. Bloom, Mrs. M. Cornrich, Mrs. V. Gerber, Mrs. L. Weiss and Mrs. S. Soloff, Leon H. Rose, Lewis Liberman, A. Barbell, S. S. Lewis, J. Grossberg, B. Greenberg, S. Lippman, J. Ruttenberg, S. Stein. H. Odlen, J. Block, O. Praissman, S. Naden, D. Lefkowitz, and David Epstein.

Camden Courier-Post - June 7, 1933

The auxiliary of Camden B'nai B'rith will give a minstrel and dance tonight at Hotel Walt Whitman.

Mrs. Joseph Becker is chairman of the committee on arrangements, which Includes Mrs. Leon Robbins, Mrs. Charles Dikter and Miss Ruth Richman. The cast for the minstrel is composed of the members of the committee in addition to Miss Isabelle Ostroff, Miss Edythe Plotnick, Mrs. Etta Rosen, Miss Ida Cabnet, Miss Ida Berger, Miss Freda Ruttenberg, Mrs. Hattie Michel, Miss Sarah Schatz and Mrs. Jack Bryen.

Camden Courier-Post - June 7, 1933

Leon H. Rose, Camden attorney and president of B'nai B’rith, Council of New Jersey, will preside at the convention of the state order which will be held at Biltmore Hotel, Atlantic City, beginning at 10 a. m. Sunday.

Jewish leaders from all over New Jersey will discuss Jewish problems. The Jewish situation in Germany will be considered and plans made to cooperate with the Joint Distribution Committee in its proposed campaign for funds to aid Jews in Germany. 

Camden Courier-Post - June 7, 1933

While professional theater productions in Yiddish may never have been staged in Camden, proximity to Philadelphia allowed Camden's Jewish theatergoers access to most of the Yiddish productions that toured.

Maurice Schwartz was one of the most significant figures in Yiddish Theater, both on stage with his Yiddish Art Theatre Co., and on film as producer, writer, director and lead character in Tevye, the original, non-musical film version of the book which inspired "Fiddler on the Roof". He also had significant roles in several movies, including Salome, appearing with Rita Hayworth, Charles Laughton, Stewart Grainger, Dame Judith Anderson, and Sir Cedric Hardwicke.

Camden Courier-Post - June 8, 1933
Tribute to Mrs. Greenberg

To the Editor:

Sir-On May 25, 1933, a very much loved and respected Jewish woman was lost to the people of Camden. Being of a very philanthropic nature she was always ready to help someone in distress. She was a member of the Federation of Jewish Charities, the Hebrew Ladies' Charities, the Welfare Social Club, the Hadassah, the Ladies' Auxiliary of the Progress Lodge, the Ladies' Auxiliary of the Congregation of the Sons of Israel.

Many of us have been benefited by her sweet sympathy and understanding nature and because of the unfortunate circumstances at the time of her death the reporter that originally got the news for your paper told all about her business dealings but omitted to tell what a truly fine person she was.

We of Camden always have known the Courier to print all the truth, therefore we do want to express how much her death meant to us. The members of all the organizations to which she so unselfishly gave so much of her time and energy offer their sincerest sympathy to her children and hope that God in His good time will heal their wounds.

Mrs. B. OSTROF, Secretary

Reports on Tag Sale
To Be Made by Deborah

The Camden branch of the Auxiliary of the Deborah Sanitarium at Browns Mills will hold the final meeting of the season on Monday evening at the Beth-El auditorium, Park Boulevard and Belleview Avenue

Reports on Tag Day, held May 27, will be given and plans made for an outing to Browns Mills on Sunday, June 25, when the tenth anniversary of the sanitarium will be observed.

Following the business Mrs. M. Russell will sing, accompanied by Mrs. A. Berul

Mrs. A. Stoolman, president, will preside. 

Camden Courier-Post
June 10, 1933 

Camden Courier-Post - June 12, 1933
Charities Federation Extends for One Week Drive to Raise $5000

Pledges of more than $3000 in a campaign for $5000 by the Camden Federation of Jewish Charities were announced by E. George Aaron, general chairman. 

The campaign, in which leaders in Jewish circles and Women's Auxiliaries are participating, will be extended to include this week to enable workers to cover thoroughly their respective areas. 

The drive, according to Aaron, has met with hearty cooperation from all groups, and he expressed his appreciation of the efforts of the workers. 

"The drive," he said. "which opened June 4 will meet with complete success if the receipt of pledges to date may be used as a measure. The scope of the work leads us to extend the period of the campaign for an additional week, closing June 18." 

Included among the groups for whom funds are being sought are the Hebrew Ladies' Charities, Sheltering Home, Camden Talmud Torah and Free Loan Fund.

Camden Courier-Post - June 13, 1933

Beth-Israel Sisters Hold Last Card Party 

The last of a series of charity card parties will be given by the Beth­Israel Sisterhood in the Beth-Israel Synagogue, 205 North 28th Street, tonight, at 8 o'clock. 

The committee in charge includes Mrs. Samuel C. Rosen, Mrs. David Esterman, Mrs. Morris Josselson and Mrs. Albert Taylor.

Camden Courier-Post - June 12, 1933
Jewish Council Tea To Fete New Members

Mrs. Leo Abrahams, president of the Newark Section of the Council of Jewish Women and also of the New Jersey Section of the Women's League of United Synagogues, will be the guest speaker at the tea to be given by the Camden Council tomorrow afternoon in honor of the new members. 

The tea to be held at Beth El Synagogue, beginning at 2 o'clock, will mark the close of the council's two-weeks' membership drive. 

Rabbi Nachman Arnoff, of Beth El, will extend greetings to the group. Samuel Sherman, pianist, will give a short program.

Camden Courier-Post - June 15, 1933
Committee to Raise $10,000 for Aid,
Told of Hardships in Germany

At an executive meeting of the United Committee for Relief of German Jews, held at Beth El Synagogue last night, the captains who will be in charge of teams for the purpose of raising $10,000 for relief of German Jews, were announced by Leon H. Rose, general chairman. In urging the appointees to intensive efforts, Rose said: 

"Six hundred thousand Jews are in distress. They are ousted from office, discharged from employment, denied civil and economic rights, persecuted and systematically forced to starve to death.

"There is raging in Germany one of the coldest and cruelest pogroms against the Jews ever known to history.

"We must help. We must rescue those helpless ones. Our weapon for immediate retaliation is money, and we must supply those arms. By the widest stretch of the imagination, it is inconceivable how any Jew in this community can exclude himself from this cause. 

"Thousands of German Jews, especially among the young, see a prospect of restarting their lives in Palestine to which some of them already have made their way. Determined, concerted Jewish effort can make it capable of providing a permanent home for a considerable part of German Jewry to whom the rest of the world, with few exceptions, is closed. 

"Immediate funds are needed. I appeal to you as self-respecting Jews who understand the suffering of your own race to come to the aid of your stricken brothers and sisters. Give them all you can." 

Those named and the organizations they represent are: Jacob Leventon, Congregation Beth El; David Lefkowitz, congregation Sons of Israel; Morris Josselson, Congregation Beth Israel; Benjamin Friedman, B'nai Brith; Mrs. I.S. Siris, Hadassah; Philip Miller, Hebrew Parent Teachers Association; Herman Odlen, Federation of Jewish Charities; Mrs. Rose Goldstein, Independent Social; Harry W. Markowich, Zionist Organization; Norman Heine, Junior 
Council; Julius Samson, Upsilon Lambda Phi. 

Mrs. William Laub, Council of Jewish Women; A. David Epstein, Sigma Alpha Rho; Mrs. Aaron Heine, Beth El Sisterhood; Samuel Shane, Talmud Torah; M. Snyder, Workmen's Circle; M. Bard, F. of S. U.; Louis Tarter, Independent Progress Lodge; Mrs. Zelda Lutz, Jacob J. Hernfeld Link; Dr. I.S. Siris, Jewish Welfare Society; Mrs. M. Shapiro, Hebrew Ladies Charities. 

Saul Lippman, Mizrachi; Mrs. Samuel Litow, Welfare Social Club; D. Breslow, Gordonia; Dr. Reuben Cutler, Mizpah Lodge No. 245; F. & A. M.; Meyer Adelman, Camden Level Club; Mrs. Etta Rosen, B'nai Brith Auxiliary; Mrs. L. Weiss, Ladies Auxlliary of Progress Lodge; Miriam Morris, Junior Charity Workers; Mrs. A. Stoolman, Deborah Society; Mrs. M. Leider, Welfare Social.

Moses Bord was appointed captain of the workers. A mass meeting will be held June 20, at the Talmud Torah building, Seventh Street and Kaighn Avenue, and will be addressed by members of national, state and municipal governments, as well as outstanding Jewish leaders from New York and Philadelphia. 

Camden Courier-Post - June 15, 1933
Mrs. Michael Shapiro Heads Hebrew Charities

Mrs. Michael Shapiro has been installed as president of the Camden Hebrew Ladies' Charities with headquarters at the Talmud Torah, 621 Kaighn Avenue, for the coming year. 

In addition to Mrs. Shapiro the following members of the executive board were installed: Mrs. Rose Bellitz, first vice president; Mrs. Sarah Seidman, second vice president; Mrs. A. Bitman, treasurer; Mrs. Rose Worthrich, financial secretary; Mrs. Louis Creskoff, corresponding secretary; Mrs. Benjamin Ostroff, recording secretary. 

The following committees have been named: Mrs. Hyman Kaplan, chairman of the investigations committee; Mrs. W. Waldman, chairman of the meal tickets committee; Mrs. Kaplan and Mrs. Samuel Litow, co-chairmen in charge of food orders. 

Rabbi N. Riff, of the Congregation Sons of Israel, addressed the group at the installation and urged harmony and co-operation in the organization as a means to the greatest accomplishment in its work.. 

Camden Courier-Post - June 15, 1933
B'Nai Brith Auxiliary To Hear Council Reports

Reports of the delegates to the State Council of the Auxiliary to the International Order of B'nai Brith, held this past Sunday in Atlantic City, will be given at the monthly meeting of the Camden branch of the organization to be held this evening in the Hotel Walt Whitman. Mrs. Samuel Rosen, president of the Camden group, will preside at the business session, when Mrs. Gertrude Becker, director of the minstrel and dance held this month, will make her final report. Plans to repeat the event will be discussed. 


Dr. and Mrs. Max Ruttenberg, of 303 Cooper Street, have announced the engagement of Mrs. Ruttenberg's sister, Miss Harriet Blieden, daughter of the late Rabbi and Mrs. Benjamin Blieden, of Philadelphia, to Max Kahener, of Philadelphia. Miss Blieden is a graduate of South Philadelphia High School for Girls and following attended Temple University. She is vice president of the South Philadelphia Hadassah. Mr. Kahener is a graduate of the Philadelphia Normal School, the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania and the law school of Dickinson College.

Camden Courier-Post
June 15, 1933

Dr. Max Ruttenberg

Camden Courier-Post - June 16, 1933
Mrs. Wertheimer Installed As Hebrew Club Head

Mrs. Martin Wertheimer has been installed as president of the Ladles' Auxiliary of the Suburban Hebrew Association of South Jersey. Other new officers are; Mrs. J. Goldberg, first vice president; Mrs. S. Krone, second vice president; Mrs. S. Machler, recording and corresponding secretary; Mrs. D. Cooper, financial secretary, and Mrs. Fisher, treasurer, New officers were installed at a meeting held on Tuesday at the headquarters of the association on White Horse Road, Clementon. Mrs. S. Rudolph, retiring president, officiated. The next meeting of the auxiliary will be held on June 27 at the headquarters. 

Camden Courier-Post - June 16, 1933

Camden is to have an all Jewish cemetery, development work on which started Wednesday. Thirty-five acres of ground has been purchased at Crescent Boulevard and Burlington Pike, to be improved and will be known as Gan Olam or Eternal Park. The developers will be the Crescent Burial Park Company, composed almost entirely of Philadelphia capital. Nathan U. Katz, local realtor, will be executive sales manager. There will be no stock for sale it was announced although burial plots will be available to Jewish people exclusively. 

"This new development," said Katz, "will provide a long felt need among the Jewish families. It will be the only strictly Jewish burial park in South Jersey outside of a small one at Pleasantville.

"The development," Katz said. "contemplates the expenditure of approximately $100,000 on improvements, $25,000 of which has already been appropriated for immediate use." 

Camden Courier-Post - June 20, 1933
Camden Residents Push Drive for Fund to Help Victims of Hitler

Camden Jews will stage a mass meeting at 8:30 o'clock tonight at the Talmud Torah, 621 Kaighn Avenue, in the interest of relief of their persecuted brethren in Germany. 

A campaign has been launched to raise $10,000 for relief work. Contributions should be sent to the United Committee for Relief of German Jews, 908 Broadway-Stevens Building. 

The speakers will include Abe Goldberg, New York; Judge William M. Lewis, Philadelphia; Mayor Roy R. Stewart and rabbis and clergymen of all creeds. Leon H. Rose will preside. 

The committee reports 600,000 men, women and children have suffered as a result of Nazi atrocities in Germany. 

"Hundreds have been deprived of their rights of citizenship and livelihood," continued the announcement. 

"Loyalty, patriotism, service, have counted for naught; doctors, lawyers, civil servants, university professors and other teachers, scientists, musicians, industrial workers, have been driven from their positions and have been denied the right to work at their vocations. Even the right to an education is now being denied many of Jewish children. 

"These German Jewish men and women recognized no political loyalty save an undivided loyalty to their country. They wanted nothing, demanded nothing, but the right to live in security and peace, and to develop their own destinies as self respecting men and women, and to labor for the upbuliding of their country."" 

Camden Courier-Post - June 21, 1933
$391 Contributed First Night; Boycott Aimed at 'Everything German' 

The United Committee for the Relief of German Jews opened its campaign for $10,000 in Camden last night at a rally in the Talmud Torah hall, 621 Kaighn Avenue near Seventh Street.

A total of $391.50 was contributed at the meeting to start the campaign and the committee members announced.

Abe Goldberg, of New York, internationally known Yiddish orator, and Judge William M. Lewis, of Philadephia, addressed the gathering, pleading for financial assistance for Jewish refugees driven from Germany by the Hitler persecution.

"In Germany we are not even considered a people," Goldberg said. "We have given Germany its greatest scientific and medical achievements and this is the 
compensation we receive."

Judge Lewis declared there was no parallel in the history of Israel for the Hitler persecution, and urged that Jews "use their only weapon­ that of boycott of all German things, industrially and professionally." 

Leon H. Rose, Camden attorney, presided. He said every section of the city would be canvassed during the campaign. 

Contributions thus far are as follows:

Louis Cades 
Jacob Leviton
Reuben Pinsky 
Lewis Liberman 
Mrs. Mary Naden 
Meyer Adelman 
Dr. Alexander Ellis 
Leon H. Rose 
Herman Odlen 
Rabbi Nachman Arnoff 
Isadore Borstein 
Edward Smith 
William Arensberg 
Joseph Firemen 
Morris Futernick
Keystone Stationery
Joseph Fine
S. Frankel 
Albert Melnik 
Rabbi Riff 
Alfred Solomon 
Morris Schwartz 
Michael Gold
Philip Bitman
M. Markowitz & Son 
Eddie Markowitz 
J. Epstein 
Samuel Ginnis 
Nathan Blank 
Harry Mandel 
Mark Marritz
Maurice L. Praissman
Benjamin Friedman
Julius Rosenberg
Progressive Printing 
Nathan Michel
Ellis Goodman
Benjamin Asbell
Harry Rose
Jack Goldstein
Total  $391.50

Camden Courier-Post - June 24, 1933

The Federation of Jewish Charities concluded its campaign for funds Thursday night with a banquet attended by workers and directors of the organization, at the Talmud Torah, 621 Kaighn Avenue

E. George Aaron, chairman of the campaign, announced that more than $5000 was pledged. Talks were made by Herman Odlen, Samuel Shane, Samuel Lippman, A. Barbell, Mrs. S. Litow, Mrs. M. Shapiro and Mrs. C. Riff.

Rabbi N. Riff presented a walking stick to Aaron for his work as head of the drive

Camden Courier-Post - June 21, 1933
$391 Contributed First Night; Boycott Aimed at 'Everything German' 

An appeal to Camden's Jewish populace to attend an emergency meeting of the United Committee for Relief of German Jews to be held tonight at the Talmud Torah, Kaighn Avenue, near Seventh Street, was issued last night by Leon H. Rose, chairman.

The committee is seeking $10,000 as Camden's quota for the care of Jewish refugees driven from Germany by the Hitler persecution.

"The plight of Germany's Jewish population and the hardships upon women and children have not ceased," Rose said. We Jews in Camden have a part to play. Our aid must not be limited to a protest, but we help to bring actual relief to the 600,000 stricken Jews in Germany. We must give them some little help toward reconstructing their lives somewhere, or somehow. We must find a way to help them become self-supporting, a way whereby Jewish children will receive some education, some training of hand and mind to prepare themselves for the pioneer life which seems to be their only hope."

Contributions are as follows

Previously acknowledged: .
Jacob Ginsburg 
Morris Schwartz 
Meyer Adelman 
Jesse Satenstein 
Joseph Friedman
Harry Goodman 
Max Goos 
L. Castor
N. Epstein 
A. Wolf 
S. Katz 
H. Norwit 

D. Molotsky 
M. Toll  
Joseph Epstein 
Mr. Lerman 
Harry Marritz            
Dr. Max Ruttenberg 

A. Kauffman
I. Solotoff 
A.     Feldman 
Frank Rose 
Mr. Drossner 
D. Oxtnan 
B.     Richman 
George Schatz
N. Wolpert 
Fannie Cohen             
Mrs. Anna Goldstein 
Lester Abrahamer 
M. Shapiro 
H. Lavitt
H. Brinn 
S. Ellis 
H. Conston
Sam Trahr 
Greenetz & Greenetz   
M. Galanter 
M. Jaffe 
Joseph Fuhrman
George Lilley
D. Friedlander 
Allen Dolgin 
J. Zinman          
D. Friedenberg 
M. S. Perlmutter 
Julius Sklar  
Al Morowitz 
Sam Katz 
Samuel Zeff          
Benjamin Gold     
Solomon Hoffman
George Cotler
Leon Faerber 
Hyman Enten 
M. Josselson 
Herman Salik
M. Segal 
J. Sandgrund    
Hyman Dvinsky             
Nathan Dinoff 
Dr. Meyer Barbel
I. Stern 
S. Morochnick &  Co.
Jacob Hyman

Total  $507.00

Camden Courier-Post - June 22, 1933

Auxiliary to Visit Deborah Sanatorium

The Camden branch of the auxiliary of the Deborah Sanitarium at Browns Mills will take an outing to Browns Mills this Sunday celebrating the tenth anniversary or the sanitarium. 

The trip will be made by bus, leaving at noon from Broadway and Kaighn Avenue. Reservations may be made until tomorrow through Mrs. I. Lieberson, Mrs. H. Stoolman, Mrs. N. Wortereich and Miss Dora Yellin. . 

Camden Courier-Post - June 23, 1933


Leon H. Rose, Camden attorney and a leader in Jewish activities throughout Camden County and state, will sail from New York for Palese tine on July 8, aboard the S. S. Conte de Savoia.

Rose will be accompanied by I. E. Block, bead of the Jewish National Fund in the Philadelphia. district. Rose is chairman of the Camden United Committee for Relief of German Jews. Both will attend the Zionist Congress while abroad and will visit Egypt, Italy, Czechoslovakia, Switzerland, France and England. 

Camden Courier-Post - June 23, 1933

Mrs. Sylvia Cades Elevated to Matron at Exercises in Camden

With delegations from Philadelphia, Trenton, Newark and Atlantic City and 300 of its own members in attendance, Jacob J. Hernfeld Link, Order of the Golden Chain, last night installed 15 newly-elected officers. 

Mrs. Sylvia Cades was elevated to matron, and Jacob Lukoff, junior warden of Mizpah Lodge, F. and A. M., was installed as worthy patron. Mrs. Zelda Lutz retired as past matron. Israel Heine, past master of Mizpah Lodge, was installed as sentinel, and Emanuel Kapel as past worthy patron. 

Mrs. Lillian Berla, past grand matron of the grand link, officiated asthe installing officer, while the grand link was represented by Mrs. Mildred Callen, district deputy, and Miss Adeline Hernfeld who paid tribute to the retiring matron. The record of the link in social and charitable fields was extolled. 

Other officers installed are: Mrs. Sarah Richelson, associate matron; Samuel Rosen, associate patron; Mrs. Henrietta Ginsberg, conductress; Mrs. Betty Kapel, associate conductress; Mrs. Zelda Lutz, past matron as marshall; Mrs. Elizabeth Bass, chaplin; Mrs. Reba Robbins, warden, and Mrs. Bessie Becker, organist. . 

Camden Courier-Post
June 23, 1933
Installed Here

Mrs. Cades was installed last night as matron of Jacob J. Hernfeld Link, Order of the Golden Chain, and Lukoff as worthy patron. 

Camden Courier-Post - June 24, 1933

The Federation of Jewish Charities concluded its campaign for funds Thursday night with a banquet attended by workers and directors of the organization, at the Talmud Torah, 621 Kaighn Avenue

E. George Aaron, chairman of the campaign, announced that more than $5000 was pledged. Talks were made by Herman Odlen, Samuel Shane, Samuel Lippman, A. Barbell, Mrs. S. Litow, Mrs. M. Shapiro and Mrs. C. Riff.

Rabbi N. Riff presented a walking stick to Aaron for his work as head of the drive

Camden Courier-Post - June 24, 1933

Miss Betty Tomar, of 2409 Federal Street, will give a bridge and miscellaneous shower at her home this evening in honor of Miss Estelle Dragon, of this city, whose engagement to Jack Shapiro, of Philadelphia, has been announced.

Camden Courier-Post - June 24, 1933

Mr. and Mrs. David Hormats, of 1468 Belleview Avenue, were honor guests at a dinner given by Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Rosner, of 1464 Belleview Avenue, last evening. Mr. and Mrs. Hormats and children will leave shortly for Los Angeles, California to make their future home. Miss Edith Rosner will accompany the party west

Camden Courier-Post - June 28, 1933
All Organizations Join in Plan to Raise $10,000 Relief Fund

Representatives of every Jewish organization in Camden were in attendance last night at an emergency meeting of the United Committee for relief of German Jews, held in Talmud Torah Hall, Kaighn Avenue near Seventh Street, when plans to complete a drive for $10,000 by July 3 were adopted.

Leon H. Rose, Camden attorney and chairman of the committee, appointed a special committee to push the drive for funds to aid the 600,000 German Jews, victims of Hitler persecution.

Addresses were made at the meeting by Rabbi N. S. Arnoff, of Beth El Synagogue and Rabbi N. Riff, of Sons of Israel Synagogue. The committee includes Mark Marritz, Samuel Shane, Bella Ostroff, Joseph Shapiro, Mrs. Esther Rosen, Mary Mann, Benjamin Friedman, Herman Odlen, Harry W. Markowitz, Mrs. William Laud, A. David Epstein, M. Snyder, Louis Tartar, Dr. I. S. Siris, J. Richterman, Mrs, David Esterman, Harry Steinberg, Sylvia Sandgrund and Mrs. Hattie Michel.

An additional $300 was collected at the meeting and turned over to Lewis Liberman, assistant city solicitor, who is treasurer of the committee

Camden Courier-Post - June 28, 1933

Frat Chief


Camden attorney, who recently was elected master of the Upsilon Lambda Phi Fraternity, by delegates of 3500 members throughout this country and Canada. A graduate of Camden High School and South Jersey Law School, Asbell now is practicing in the law office of Judge Frank F. Neutze. He resides at 918 South Fifth Street.

Camden Courier-Post - June 2, 1933


The marriage of Miss Rose Leviton of 1112 Morton Street, and Louis Polatnick of Philadelphia, was solemnized at the home of the bride on Sunday.,

Attendants were Mrs. Philip Jaspan, sister of the bride, as matron of honor; Herman Polatnick, brother of the bridegroom, best man, and Zelda H. Jaspan and Louise B. Ra­diss, nieces of the bride, flower girls.

On their return from a wedding trip Mr. and Mrs. Polatnick will live in Philadelphia.

Camden Courier-Post - February 11, 1936


Members of the Auxiliary to the B'Nai Brith wlll hold an executive board meeting tomorrow evening at the home of Miss Sarah Schatz, of 532 Clinton Street, this city. 

Camden Courier-Post - February 11, 1936


The fourteenth annual ball of the Federation of Jewish Charities will be held in the Moose Home February 23. In existence 16 years, the Federation during the past year has merged all Jewish charitable groups in Camden into its organization. Tanya Roll and Samuel Shane head the committee in charge.

Camden Courier-Post - February 24, 1936

Stage and Radio stars to
Headline Entertainment On March 8

Members of Ahav Zedak Congregation and Auxiliary will hold their annual show and dance March 8, in the Moose Auditorium, Eighth and Market streets. Stage and radio stars are to headline the entertainment features, the committee announced yesterday.

Meyer Gantz is general chairman of the committee, Morris Kress is secretary Simon Abramson, treasurer, and Joseph T. Sherman ticket chairman. Assisting Sherman are Samuel Weiss, Harry Rose, George Schatz, I. Rose, Jules Jaspan, M. Ross, M. Katz, David Visor and M. Molotsky.

Mrs. Morris Kress is chairman of the auxiliary's committee and Mrs. Meyer Gantz is ticket chairman.  Other members of the committee are Mrs. M. Ross, Mrs. Celia Isaacson, Mrs. I. Rose, Mrs. I. Berlin, and Mrs. S. Brian, president of the Auxiliary.

Music will be furnished by the Penn Troubadours.

Camden Courier-Post - February 24, 1936

13th Annual Event Staged in Moose Hall as 4 Groups Co-operate

The thirteenth annual ball of the Federation of Jewish Charities attracted more than 400 guests last night to Moose Hall.

Four organizations of Jewish community workers' have united in an extensive program of the federation engaged in civic and welfare programs. They are the Hebrew Welfare Society, the Hebrew Ladies Society, the Talmud Torah and the Sheltering Home.

A program of entertainment and dancing featured last night's event.

Among entertainers were Marci Dutkin, 10-year-old Camden "Dancing Doll", Frank Arena, of "Gold Diggers of 1935", and Eddie Peabody, stage star. Music was provided by Sam Yellin's Black Cat Serenaders. The floor show was under direction of Charles Dutkin.

Samuel Shane was chairman of the ball committee with the following co-chairman: Mrs. Martin Koll, Morris Rapkin, Lewis Weinstein, Samuel Zaslow and Alex Malamut.

Among the women Federation assisting at the affair were Mrs. H. Kaplan, Mrs. Samuel Shane, Mrs. V. Gerber, and Mrs. F. Bloom.

Trenton Evening Times
May 16, 1936
Congregation Beth El - Pearl Josephson
Samuel Josephson

Camden Courier-Post - February 1, 1938

Jewish Community to Fete Dr. Goldstein, President of Palestine Fund

Rabbi Israel Goldstein, of New York, president of the Jewish National Fund of America, will speak tonight at a mass meeting at the Hotel Walt Whitman, in celebration of the 35th anniversary of the Jewish National Fund.

Preceding the meeting, he will be the guest at a dinner tendered by members of the Jewish community here.

Leon H, Rose, Camden attorney, who is president of the Jewish National Fund Conncil of Southern New Jersey, will be toastmaster. Rabbis N. H. J. Riff and Philip L. Lipis [of Congregation Beth El- PMC] will speak.

Dr. Goldstein is rabbi of Congregation B'nai Jeshrun, and active in Jewish communal, civic and interfaith movements. He is a member of the New York Regional Relations Board and of the National Executive Committee on Workers and Farmers Rights, and president of the Jewish Conciliation Court of America. The Jewish National Fund of America, of which he is head, has for its purpose the purchase of land in Palestine.

Those at the dinner will include:

David Breslau, Ben Zion Steinberg, Isaac Singer, Mrs. Samuel Kaplan, Mrs. Abraham Kaplan, Samuel Varbalow, Meyer Adelman, E. George Aaron, Jacob Leventon, Jesse Satenstein, Lewis Liberman, A. J. Rosenfeld, Judge Joseph Varbalow, Elias Klein, Mark Marritz, Albert B. Melnik, Dr. Samuel H. Blank, Barney B. Brown, Jacob Naden, Samuel Ginns, Ernest Dubin, Ellis Goodman, Leon Naden, Louis Rovner, Joseph Ruttenberg. Morris Liebman, Albert Caplan, Lester Abrahamer, I. J. Milask, Isadore H. Hermann, Milton C. Nurock, Harry Trautenberg, Manuel Winigrad, Hanan Yarden, Morris Drob and Mrs. Dora E. Rose.

Camden Courier-Post - February 2, 1938

200 Attend Meeting Here Under Sponsorship of South Jersey Council

More than $2000 for the Jewish National Fund was raised at a mass meeting under the auspices of the South Jersey Council of the Fund last night in the Hotel Walt Whitman.

Announcing the total contributed, Leon H. Rose, president of the Council, told the 200 men and women at tending that "for one night's work it was one of the greatest achievements in the history of Jewish communities in South Jersey."

Dr, Israel Goldstein, prominent New York rabbi and president of the Jewish National Fund of America, addressed the meeting, which was in celebration of the 35th anniversary of the founding of the World Jewish National Fund for the acquisition of land in Palestine was the inalienable property of the whole Jewish people.

The immediate objective of the Fund is the purchase of recently available land, mainly in Galilee, so that if there is a partition of Palestine among Jews and Arabs, as proposed by the British Royal Commission, the boundaries of the Jewish possessions will include double the present area.

Terms Palestine 'Enduring'

"Only in Palestine can there be established a Jewish institution that will forever endure," Dr.' Goldstein declared, "The foundations are crumbling in countries where a generation ago we seemed destined to remain. Even in democratic countries there are fears and misgivings touching the future.

"In Palestine you may be sure that Jewish life will never be uprooted. Men and women come there not to make a fortune but to make a life. That which the Jewish people possess there is national property and can never be mortgaged away. It is their greatest practical and political asset.

"The Jews in Palestine are not only redeeming the land but they are reclaiming the strength that comes from the soil.

Founded on Justice

"Assuming there will be a Jewish state, that does not mean the Jewish people will own all the land which is now in the hands of the Arabs. We cannot drive them away, we cannot dispossess them and we would not if we could, for that would be injustice and our state would not endure on a foundation of injustice.

"The land must be acquired by contract or purchase and sale. Opportunities for land purchase, not by individuals but for the Jewish people as a whole, through the Fund, exist today as they have not existed for many years.

"This is our opportunity to help the Jews from Germany, Poland and Romania who want to· come to Palestine.

"When the Jewish people redeem the Land of Israel then the Land of Israel will redeem the Jewish people."

Camden Courier-Post - February 2, 1938


Mr. and Mrs. Samuel A. Kantor, 1214 Empire avenue, entertained at a buffet supper and card party in honor of their daughter, Miriam, who was graduated from Camden High School last week.

Guests included Dr. and Mrs. Herman A. Kline, Atlantic City; Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Leventon, Collingswood; Mr. and Mrs. Nathan Obus, West Collingswood; Mr. and Mrs. Sidney Leventon, Melrose Park; Mr. and Mrs. Sol W. Lewis, Mr. and Mrs. Norman Lewis and Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Rovner, Philadelphia; Frances Baron, Cleveland, and Mr. and Mrs. Louis Rovner, Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Stern, Mr. and Mrs. Nathan Friedenberg, Mr. and Mrs. Morris Handle, Rabbi and Mrs. Philip L. Lipis and Mr. and Mrs. Barney B. Brown, Camden.

Camden Courier-Post - February 3, 1938

Deborah Auxiliary To Meet February 9

The Camden Woman’s Auxiliary to the Deborah Society will hold its next regular meeting on Wednesday night, February 9, instead of the preceding Monday as previously announced, at 8:30 o'clock in Beth-El auditorium, Parkside.

Mrs. Elizabeth Shapiro will preside at the meeting when plans will be made for the entertainment and dance to be held on Sunday night, March 27.

Camden Courier-Post - February 3, 1938


Camden Women's Branch of Deborah will hold its annual entertainment and dance in Beth-El auditorium, Sunday, March 27.

A play will be given by members of the New Theatre of Philadelphia. There will be vocal solos by Mrs. Perle Fradlin and Rose Solatoff. Dance music will be by Jimmy Fillo's Orchestra. Proceeds will be for the benefit of the tuberculosis hospital maintained by Deborah at Browns Mills.

Camden Courier-Post - February 5, 1938


Mayor Brunner and Commissioner Kobus will open the bazaar to be held by the ladies auxiliary of Sons of Israel Synagogue tomorrow, Monday and Tuesday.

The bazaar will be staged at the Talmud Torah, with a supper starting the festivities at 6 p. m. tomorrow.

On Monday night, Commissioner Bennett and E. Howard Broome, will be present, it was announced.

Camden Courier-Post * February 12, 1938

Dr. Abraham A. Neuman Will Address Session Here Monday Night

Dr. Abraham A. Neuman, professor of history at Dropsie College and revising editor of Cyclopedia Judaica, will address the monthly Beth El public forum Monday night.

Dr. Neuman will be the fourth prominent lecturer of the current season, which is the third since the forum's inception. He was preceded by John Haynes Holmes, Isa Kremer and Robert Gordis. Ludwig Lore will follow him on March 14.

Dr. Neuman specializes in Spanish-Jewish history. A graduate of Columbia University, he has been rabbi of the Jewish Theological Seminary and Congregation Bekvah-Israel, the second oldest in Philadelphia, and is a doctor of Hebrew literature.

His present activities, besides Dropsie College and Cyclopedia Judaica, include the presidency of the Philadelphia branch of United Synagogues, vice president of the Board of Overseers of Gratz College and trustee of that same institution.

Chosen to succeed Dr. Alexander Marx in the teaching of Jewish history at the Jewish Theological Seminary, Dr. Neuman has become one of the most popular lecturers on Judaism in the country.

Monday's forum will be under the chairmanship of Harry Berkowitz and will start at 8.30 p. m. It will be held in the Beth El auditorium at Park boulevard and Bellview avenue..

Camden Courier-Post - February 14, 1938

Honored By Lodge

Fete Marks Seventh Birthday of Jacob J. Hernfeld Link, No. 26

Mrs. Betty K. Kapel, junior past matron, was guest of honor last night at a dinner marking the seventh birthday of the Jacob L. Hernfeld Link, No. 26, Order of the Golden Chain, held in the main ballroom of the Hotel Walt Whitman.

Mrs. Kapel is present right worthy district deputy of district No. 10 of the Link. Sylvia Hernfeld Ruberg is worthy matron and Nathan Wayne Elkitz worthy patron of the lodge.

Other honored guests were Mrs. Bertha Melnick, most worthy grand matron, and Dr. Eugene Melnick, of Philadelphia; Meyer Linnick, most worthy grand patron, and Mrs. Linnick of Newark; Mrs. Lillian Berla, past grand matron, and Samuel Berla, of Newark; Emeritus Emanuel Biron, grand patron, of Atlantic City; Freda Biron, past grand matron, of Atlantic City; H. David Zerman, past grand patron, of Bayonne; Mrs. Mollie Steinberg, past grand matron, and Meyer Steinberg, of Newark; Reuben Jacoby, past grand patron, of Atlantic City; Leah Jacoby, grand lecturer, of Atlantic City; Mr. and Mrs. David Berstein, of Newark; Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Schwarzman, of Philadelphia, and Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Fassler, of Philadelphia..

Mrs. Betty K. Kapel

February 23, 1938

Hadassah Sabbath Observance Friday In Beth El Temple 

The annual Hadassah Sabbath will be observed at Beth El Synagogue, this city, on Friday, when the service will honor members of the Camden Chapter of that organization. 

Following the service, which will start at 8.15, the Camden Hadassah will hold Oneg Shabbat under the direction of Mrs. David Kravitz. Mrs. I. Edward Tapper will speak on "An Honored Woman," telling of the life and work of Rose Jacobs. Mrs. Jacobs was one of the founders of Hadassah and has been identified with Zionist and Palestine work for the past 25 years. Dorothy Aaronson, Philadelphia vocalist will sing. 

In his invitation to Hadassah, Rabbi Philip Lipis, of Beth El, said: "The synagogue and this great woman's organization are building a Jewish future out of a rich interior and resources of inner faith. Both look beyond the shadows of the present for the promise of future charged by the spirit of the past; the one to revitalize Judaism to its totality the world over, the other bringing itself to the more specific task of rescue and rehabilitation of Jews." 

Mrs. Kravitz' committee comprises, Mrs. Leo Robbins, Mrs. Emanuel Winigrad, Mrs. Jack Rappaport, Mrs. Henry Bass, Mrs. Herman Denbo, Mrs. Samuel Josephson, Mrs. Isadore Siris, Mrs. Irael Katz, Mrs. Lewis Blumstein, Mrs. Samuel Kantor, Mrs. Samuel Heine, Mrs. Elias Klein, Mrs. Henry Bass, Mrs. Harry Polasky, M'rs. Max Ruttenberg, Mrs. Harry H. Tietleman, Mrs. Naden, Mrs. Joseph Levinsky, Mrs. Jacob Rappaport, Mrs. David Glickman, Mrs., William Laub, Mrs. R. Chane, Mrs. Morris Liebman, Mrs. B. Lackerman, Mrs. Reuben Pinsky, Mrs. Sarah Smith, Mrs. P. Rosenberg, Mrs. Abe Brandt, Mrs. Jacob Leventon. 



Camden Courier-Post
February 26, 1938






April 1,1940

On April 1, 1940 Tri-County Post 126 of the Jewish War Veterans purchased 523 Broadway from the City of Camden for $2600. This building had been acquired by the city on October 30, 1939 from Mrs. Emma Bagley, most likely for non-payment of taxes owed. 


Camden Courier-Post * July 22, 1941
George E. Brunner - William C. Schriver - Leo G. Stephans - Sgt. Ray Smith
Fred Vogel - Samuel Shapiro -
James H. O'Brien - Albert C. Becker - Roy C. Adams
Burnell S. Hartman -
Michael Mungioli - Carrie R. Bean - Anne D. Spooner
Engine Company 1 - Engine Company 3 - Engine Company 7 - Engine Company 8
Engine Company 9 - Engine Company 10 - Engine Company 11
Engine Company 2 (Fire Headquarters)

Camden Courier-Post - July 22, 1941

Camden Drive Brings $14,575 to Recreation Fund For Service Men

Contributions to the United Service Organizations continued to flow in yesterday. 

The money will be used for recreational programs for men in the armed forces of the nation through clubs, which are being established adjacent to army and navy cantonments.

Total receipts as announced by Ralph Vasso, chairman of the volunteer gift committee, were $14,575.58. The goal set up for Camden in the nationwide appeal for contributions is $21,000.

Funds are being sent by mail, and delivered in person to headquarters of the U.S.O. in the Camden County Chamber of Commerce offices, Sixth and Penn streets, Sidney P. McCord, city comptroller, is treasurer of the committee. 

Yesterday's contributors are: I.ouis Seitchik, $50; employees of Louis Seitchik, $125; Camden County Girl Scouts, $5; Alice B. Eaton, $3; Mrs. T. T. Eaton, $2; Dealers Liquor Company, additional $5; Minters Distributors, $10; John W. Whitecar, $10; Loyal Order of Moose, $10; General Chemical Company, $25; house-to-house collection, Parkside section, $7.35; collections by cans in motion picture theatres, $21.65; Sam Slutsky. $5. 
Bishop Bartholomew J. Eustace, $50; Father J. P. Fallon, $5; Camden Section National Council of Jewish Women, $10; Camden Realtors, $51; James Scarduzio, $1; John A. Neff, $5; additional from employees of MacAndrews and Forbes, $43.40; office employees of Warren Webster and Company, $24.54; factory employees of Warren Webster and Company, $55.06; Gustav Schwoeri, Jr., 52; Monsanto Chemical Company employees, $51.25; Budget Plan Corporation, $10.  

Camden Courier-Post
July 24, 1941


Trenton Evening Times - November 21, 1946
Rabbi Philip Lipsis - Rabbi Max Weine - Congregation Beth El - Congregation Beth Israel

Deborah Hospital Auxiliaries - 1940s
Deborah Heart and Lung Center
The Deborah Foundation

Click on Image to Enlarge

Libby Aronow
Jerry Sosnow
Mrs. Dora Green
Eve Kable
Mildred Wachsman
Mrs. Dorothy Green

Bar Mitzvah Jay Rosenkranz & Cantor Louis Herman
in front of Beth El - October, 1958
Click on Image to Enlarge

Trenton Evening Times - April 1, 1960
Rabbi Naftali Riff - Rabbi Harry Kellman
Congregation Beth El - Congregation Sons of Israel

Beth El Academy Nursery School - May 1963
Click on Image to Enlarge

Front : Unknown, Unknown, Jeffrey Schwartz, Unknown, Michael Reiter, Unknown, Unknown, Unknown, David Herman, Unknown, Unknown. Rear: Unknown, Unknown, Unknown, Unknown, Briana Singer, Mrs. Freida Gilden, Ms. Leslie Kurland, Joel Yaffa, Unknown, Unknown, Unknown, Shawn Beller. 

Beth El Kindergarten - 1964
Click on Image to Enlarge

Front Row: Harriet Brown OR Melanie Levinson, Erica Leiberman, Sharon Beller, Amy Korbin, Unknown, Devorah Scheiner. Middle Row: David Herman, Michael Rester, Stanton Meltzer, Jeffrey Schwartz, Jeff Beyer, David Spector. Top Row: Mrs. Klein: Keith Meretz OR Jeff Melrose, Unknown, Unknown, Briana Singer, Unknown, Unknown,  Mrs. Cohen  

21 kids [in 1963], look at the drop- the next year 18 kids. Any wonder why they moved to Cherry Hill?

David Herman, October 2007 

A Tribute to Rabbi Max Weine * April 30, 1972


"It has been said that every man should step to the music of his own drummer. Such a man is Rabbi Weine. He has an abiding love of learning and compassion for all men.

He epitomizes the word "rabbi" in its true meaning - a man whose unassuming, soft-spoken manner belies his firm conviction, his steadfast adherence to the principles which guide his beliefs and action.

In the confusion of our times, Rabbi Weine has set his sights on the path most closely aligned with his own "drumbeat." In a period when integrity and humility are rare qualities, he has become, quite unintentionally a man unique in his time.

Rabbi Weine has kept pace the issues of our time, serving his urban community in the interests of equality and the tranquil coexistence of races and religions based on education and understanding.

While his gentle ways and humble concern for the welfare of others might seem out of step among today's clerical masters of oratory bonvivant personalities and astute businessmen, this man is consummately respected by his peers and well loved by his friends and congregants."

Alice Bellitz

The Crown of a Good Name Exceeds All Others. (Pirke Avot)


Mr. and Mrs. Alvin Adleman
Mr. and Mrs. Meyer Adleman
Mr. Stanley Adleman and Guest
Mr. and Mrs. Edward Adleman
Mr. and Mrs. Michael Albert
Reverand Samuel Appel
Mr. and Mrs. James Artz
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Asbell
Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Back
Mr. and Mrs. Henry Becker
Mrs. Jeanette Bell and Escort
Mr. and Mrs. Bernard Bellitz
Mrs. Samuel Bellitz
Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Berlin
Dr. and Mrs. Harold Berlin
Mrs. Miriam Bitman
Cantor and Mrs. Philip Blackman
Mrs. Sigmund Blass
Dr. and Mrs. Albert Bonier
Mr. and Mrs. William Bryen
Dr. and Mrs. Stephen H. Davis
Mr. and Mrs. Maurice Denbo
Monsignor Joseph W. Devline
Mr. and Mrs. Allen Dolgin
Dr. Jacob Drossner
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Drourr
Mr. and Mrs. Howard Drourr
Mr. Bernard Dubin
Dr. and Mrs. I. Eisenberg
Mr. and Mrs. Nathan Eisenberg
Mr. and Mrs. Max Gerald Elkins
Mr. A. David Epstein
Mr. Irving Epstein
Mr. and Mrs. Sig Ettinger
Mrs. Bernice Fein
Mrs. Elizabeth Feinstein
Mr. and Mrs. Louis Feinstein
Mr. Leonard Feldman
Mr. Morris Baer Finkelstein
Mr. and Mrs. Aaron Fleigleman
Mr. and Mrs. Russel Forman
Mr. and Mrs. Louis Fox
Mr. Philip Fox
Rabbi and Mrs. Isaac Furman
Miss Ellen Gartzman
Mr. and Mrs. Gerald Gartzman
Dr. and Mrs. N. Harry Gartzman
Dr. Joel Geffen
Mr. Irving Gitomer
Cantor Mordecai Goldstein
Mr. and Mrs. Sidney Goodwin
Mr. William Gordon
Mr. and Mrs. Leon Gottlieb
Mr. and Mrs. Paul Gould
Mr. and Mrs. Barry Gratz
Rabbi William Greenburg
Mr. and Mrs. Al Haiken
Rabbi and Mrs. Lester Hering
Mrs. Minna Harris
Rabbi and Mrs. Arthur Haselkorn
Cantor and Mrs. Louis Herman
Mr. Russel Janoff
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Josselson
Rabbi and Mrs. Howard Kahn
Mr. and Mrs. Edward Katman
Mrs. David Kaufman
Dr. and Mrs. Mark Kauffman
Rabbi Harry B. Kellman
Dr. and Mrs. Harold Kirsh
Judge and Mrs. Albert Klein
Mr. James Klein and Guest
Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Koche
Mr. and Mrs. Ike Koff
Mr. Kotlikoff
Mr. and Mrs. Max Kramer
Mr. and Mrs. Irvin Kress
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Krouse
Mr. Louis Kushner
Mrs. Morris Kutner
Mr. Moses Lavinsky
Rabbi and Mrs. Robert Layman
Mr. and Mrs. Edward Leonard
Rabbi and Mrs. Albert L. Lewis
Mr. and Mrs. Leonard Levin
Mr. Sidney Levy
Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Lieberman
Rabbi Louis Lieberworth
Mr. Leslie Lipschutz
Mr. and Mrs. Nathan Mazo
Mr. and Mrs. Aaron Mandel
Mr. and Mrs. Max Milask
Mrs. Harold Miller
Mr. Joseph Miller
Mr. and Mrs. Reuben Miller
Miss Judith H. Moore
Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Naden
Mayor and Mrs. Joseph M. Nardi, Jr.
Mr. Irving Natkow
Rabbi and Mrs. Fred Neulander
Mr. and Mrs. Bernard Norwitz
Mr. and Mrs. David Novack
Mr. and Mrs. Morris Novack
Mr. and Mrs. Martin Odlen
Mr. and Mrs. Louis Paul
Dr. and Mrs. Harry Pinsky
Mrs. Yetta Pinsky
Mrs. Mary Plasky
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Plasky
Mr. and Mrs. Y. D. Plotnick
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Reichman
Mrs. Dora Rose
Dr. and Mrs. Leonard Rosen
Mr. and Mrs. Leon Roseman
Mr. and Mrs. Morris Liebman
Mr. and Mrs. Theodore Roseman
Mr. and Mrs. Martin Rosner
Mr. and Mrs. David Rosoff
Mr. Larry Rosoff
Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Ross
Mr. and Mrs. Manuel Ross
Mr. and Mrs. Milton Ross
Mr. and Mrs. Milton Rothbaum
Mr. and Mrs. Julius Rothlander
Mr. and Mrs. Jack Rothman
Mrs. Jennie Rothschild
Mr. and Mrs. Leon Savage
Mr. and Mrs. Albert Sbar
Miss Malkah Sbar
Mr. and Mrs. Abe Schnapf
Dr. and Mrs. Norman Shaen
Mr. and Mrs. Louis Shefsky
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Shensa
Dr. Harold Shpeen
Mr. and Mrs. Martin Silverstein
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Singer
Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Skoboloff
Mr. and Mrs. Emanuel Smith
Mr. and Mrs. I. Snegaroff
Mr. and Mrs. Martin Snyder
Mr. Joel Soffer
Miss Helen Spiegel
Mr. and Mrs. Melvin Starker
Mr. and Mrs. Ben Zion Steinberg
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel L. Supnick
Mr. and Mrs. Philip Tannenbaum
Mr. and Mrs. Edward Tapper
Mr. and Mrs. Albert Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. Harry W. Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. Irwin Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. Victor Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Toplan
Mr. Arnold K. Weber
Mr. and Mrs. Barry Weinberg
Dr. Burton Weiser
Miss Mary Weiss
Rabbi and Mrs. Herbert Yarrish
Dr. Paul G. Zackon
Mr. and Mrs. Julius Zinman
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Zitomer
Dr. and Mrs. Paul Zonies
Rabbi Harry S. Zwelling

* list incomplete




Dr. Harold Berlin, Chairman Rabbi Max Weine Tribute Dinner
Toastmaster Rabbi Albert J. Lewis, Temple Beth Sholom
Invocation and Hamotzi Rabbi Herbert Yarrish, Temple Emanuel


Birkat Hamazon


Monsignor Joseph W. Devlin, Interfaith Dialogue
Ellen Gartzman, Youth Representative
Rabbi Robert Layman, President, Tri-County Board of Rabbis
Rabbi Albert J. Lewis, Rabbinical Assembly of Philadelphia
Honorable Joseph Nardi, Jr., Mayor of the City of Camden, N. J.
Larry Rosoff, Youth Representative
Dr. Harold Shpeen, President of Jewish Federation of Camden County
Rabbi Harry S. Swelling, New Britain, Connecticut, Rabbi's Classmate
Mr. Arnold K. Weber, Director Camden Economic Development Office

Musical Program

Hazzan Phillip Blackman, Congregation Beth Israel
Hazzan Mordecai Goldstein, Temple Beth Sholom

Dr. Joel S. Geffen, Director of Department Community Education,
Jewish Theological Seminary of America.


Mr. David Rosoff, President of Congregation Beth Israel


Rabbi Max Weine



Mr. and Mrs. Meyer Adleman
Mr. Stanley Adleman
Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Aronberg
Dr. and Mrs. Eugene Bass
Miss Hene Bercovich
Mr. and Mrs. Jack Beilowitz
Mr. and Mrs. Bernard Bellitz
Dr. and Mrs. Harold Berlin
Mr. and Mrs. Henry Budowsky
Mrs. Naomi Floch
Mr. and Mrs. Harold Frankel
Dr. and Mrs. N. Harry Gartzman
Mr. and Mrs. Harry Goldstein
Mr. and Mrs. Abraham Greenberg
Mr. and Mrs. Leonard Harris
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Josselson
Rabbi and Mrs. Louis Kaplan
Mrs. Bertha Kapnick
Judge and Mrs. Albert J. Klein
Mr. and Mrs. Moses Lavinsky
Mr. and Mrs. Sam Lear
Mr. and Mrs. Harry Lemerman
Mr. and Mrs. Edward Leonard
Mr. and Mrs. S. Nathan Lev
Dr. and Mrs. Irvin B. Levin
Mr. and Mrs. Myron Levin
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Lutz
Mr. and Mrs. David H. Markowitz
Mr. and Mrs. Leon Mickleman
Mr. and Mrs. Abe Molotsky
Mr. and Mrs. Julian Moore
The Naden Family
Mr. and Mrs. Morris Novack
Mrs. Mary Plasky
Dr. and Mrs. Alexander Price
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Price
Mr. and Mrs. George Rhodeside
Mr. and Mrs. David Rosoff
Mr. and Mrs. Milton Rothbaum
Dr. and Mrs. Norman Shaen
Mr. and Mrs. Leon Synder
Mr. and Mrs. Louis Sobel
Mr. and Mrs. Edward Spector
Mr. Mitchell Stern
Mr. and Mrs. Albert Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. Harry Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. Irwin Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. Victor Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Vilkomerson
Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Werner
Mr. Jacob Wiener
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Wolinsky
Dr. and Mrs. Paul Zackon
Dr. and Mrs. Martin Zelnick
Dr. and Mrs. Paul Zonies

* List Incomplete



Chairman Dr. Harold Berlin
Co-chairman Mr. Bernard Bellitz
Tribute Chairman
Dr. N. Harry Gartzman Program Chairman
Mrs. Milton Rothbaum Community Laison
Hon. Albert J. Klein Program Book
Mrs. N. Harry Gartzman Mrs. Paul Gould
Arrangements Chairman Dr. Paul Zonies
Invitations Chairman Mrs. Paul Zonies
Publicity Mrs. Bernard Bellitz
Souvenir Book Mrs. Irwin Taylor


Committee Members

Mr. James Artz
Mrs. Henry Becker
Mr. Henry Becker
Dr. Stephen Davis
Mrs. Max Elkins
Mr. Aaron Fleigelman
Mrs. Gerald Gartzman
Mr. Martin Gitomer
Mr. Leon Goldberg
Mr. Paul Gould
Mr. AI Haiken
Mr. Robert Josselson
Mr. David Novack
Mr. Louis Paul
Mrs. Louis Paul
Mr. Sam Reichman
Mr. Leon Roseman
Mrs. Leon Roseman
Mr. Ted Roseman
Mrs. Ted Roseman
Mr. David Rosoff
Mr. Manuel Ross
Mr. Milton Rothbaum
Mr. Louis Shefsky
Dr. Leonard Rosen
Mr. Samuel Weiss
Mrs. Martin Zelnick


Mr. & Mrs. David B. Berschler
Mr. & Mrs. Harold Frankel
Mr. & Mrs. Morton Jacobs
Mr. & Mrs. Maurice J. Lichtman
Judge Norman Heine
Mr. Max Rosenfeld
Rabbi Bernard E. Rothman


Mr. & Mrs. Henry Bloom
Mr. & Mrs. Tom Borman
Mrs. Mildred Gelfand
Mr. & Mrs. Leon Goldberg
Dr. & Mrs. Milton Gordon
Mr. & Mrs. William Greenberg
Mr. & Mrs. Milton Herman
Mr. & Mrs. Morton Jacobs
Mr. & Mrs. Herbert Kirschner
Mr. & Mrs. William Remer
Mr. & Mrs. Benjamin Rosner
Mr. & Mrs. Samuel Segan
Mr. Joseph Smith
Mr. Mitchell Stern
Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Silverstein
Mr. & Mrs. Albert Weine
Mr. & Mrs. Leonard Zelnick


Jewish War Heroes of Camden County
World War II


This section grew out of the larger "Interesting People" web page. To make things easier, I have color-coded some of the cells, to make it easier to find people. As always, suggestions are more than welcome! 

Phil Cohen

Law Enforcement Medicine Firemen
Real Estate & Construction Education Funeral Directors
Lawyers Journalism & Writing Government & Politics
Bars, Brewers, & Bottlers Lumber & Hardware Banks, Finance, Insurance
Businessmen & Shopkeepers Show Business, Musicians, & Entertainment Notorious Characters
Religious Leaders Ship Captains &
Naval Heroes
Musicians Artists & Sculptors Barbers & Beauticians
Labor Leaders Scrap Merchants Science & Invention
Sportsmen Community Leaders Transportation
  Mair Auerbach  
  Alter Barbel Alter Barbel

Henry Bellitz

Louis Berkowitz

Corporal Benjamin Borstein
Isaac Boudov Issie Brody Private Jack Brody
    Mitchell Cohen
 Bernard Z. Cooper Dr. David E. Cooper Herman Z. Cutler
    Benjamin Dzick Jr.
  Dr. Alexander Ellis Zellie Ellis
Clarence Fuhrman Lt. Jacob Feldman Jacob L. Furer
  Dr. Henry Goldstein Dr. Hyman Goldstein
Dr. Leopold Goldstein Dr. Louis Marshall Goldstein Solomon J. & Rose Goldstein
    Ellis Goodman
Dr. Milton H. Gordon Daniel A. Gottlieb Joe & Mike
Lewis Katz    
Carl Kisselman David Kisselman  
  Dr. William M. Lashman  
  Jacob Leon  
    Ezekiel Jacob Levin
Simon Levy  Lewis Liberman  
Max F. Moritz    
  Jacob Naden  
    Harry Obus
Martin Odlen    
  Martin Portnoy  
  Morris Puro  
Rabbi Naftali Riff    
  Robert Rosengarten Benjamin P. Rosensweig
Sol Rubin David M. Rubinstein  
George Schatz Sig Schoenagle William Schoenagle
    Dr. Edward Schiff
Dr. Stanton Segal Benjamin Simon Marie E. Simon
  Jacob Silver  
Max M. Singer Dr. Isadore Samuel Siris  
Leo Spector    
Sidney Steinberg    
Samuel Varbalow Joseph A. Varbalow Herbert T. Vederman
 "Broadway Eddie" Warhoftig Jack Weinberg Rabbi Max Weine
Bruce Weiner Jack Weisfeld Max Weisfeld
Israel Weitzman Meyer Wessel William Woldman
  Sam Yellin  
    Arthur A. Zimmerman
  Philip Zinman  


Auerbach's Walkover Shop



D.A. Gottlieb & Sons, Abbatoir

Borstein Electric Company
National Electric Supply - Adele's Apparel Shop

Novelty Hair Goods Company

Greenetz & Greenetz


Stanley Bar & Liquors

Rosedale Inn

Wall Street Club also known as Mindy's  Restaurant & Bar

Weisfeld's Cafe

William Plevinsky Saloon

Furniture Stores
The NADEN STORE & Jacob Naden
N. Fuhrman Co. Furniture Store
H. Pinsky & Son Furniture Store

Brody's ESSO Service