Genter Sr.

CHARLES H. GENTER was born January 8, 1897 in 1896 in Pennsylvania. He married Mercy Harker around 1917. He was trained as an engineer. The 1930 Census found Charles and Mercy Genter living at 2272 South 7th Street, the home of Mercy Genter's parents, James and Mercy Harker. Also at home were Dorothy and Charles Jr.  Active in local politics, he served on the Camden County Board of Freeholders from Camden's 14th Ward in 1930 and 1931. The Genter family still lived at 2272 South 7th Street when the 1936 New Jersey Bell Telephone Directory was published. By 1947 Charles H. Genter had moved to Audubon. He remained an Audubon resident until his passing in November of 1985.

Camden Courier-Post - October 26, 1931

Three-Cornered Fights In Freeholder Contest
Clementon and Delaware Township to Have Bitter Battles
6 Additional Offices Created by Law; Candidates Listed

Three-cornered battles in Clementon and Delaware township will mark freeholder contests at the November 3 election. Ballots will be casts for an entire new board of freeholders, with 38 to be elected.

Boroughs to have freeholders representation for the first time as a result of recent legislation are Clementon, Lindenwold, Oaklyn, Woodlynne, Mt. Ephraim and Runnemede.

Rivals in the three-cornered fight in Clementon are Theodore W. Gibbs, Republican Organization nominee; Frank C. Somers, running as a Republican Independent, and Herbert P. McAdams, the Democratic nominee.

The triangular race in Delaware township finds Frank N. Walton, Republican Organization; J. Watson Matlack, Republican Independent, and Augustus A. Cornet, Democrat, as the contestants.

Nine members of the present board of freeholders will not be on the ballot for re-election. All are Repub­licans. They are Benjamin W. Sykes, Eighth Ward; Joseph Tarpine, First Ward, Gloucester; Philip Stohlbergel, Audubon; Joseph H. Van Meter, Collingswood; William J. Dallas, Haddon Heights; James W. Davis, Clementon; Charles C. Durges, Haddon township; Theodore Schleinkofer, Waterford township, and William A. Robinson, Winslow ..

Joseph Bennie, Third Ward, Camden, is the only Democratic member on the present board. He is seeking a re-election and is opposed by Daniel Auletto, Republican nominee.

Candidates listed on the ballots in the various wards and municipalities follow:

Camden Wards

First Ward-Samuel D. Payne, R.; Thomas J. Kittel, D.

Second-William H. Heiser, R.; William Kunitz, D.

Third-Daniel Auletto, R.; Joseph Bennie, D.

Fourth-William L. Roberts, R.; Nicholas A. La Marra, D. 

Fifth-C. Leonard Brehm, R.; Leon Perozzi. D.

Sixth-Harry J. Burrichter, R.; A. W. Lazro, D.

Seventh-Mrs. Mary D. Guthridge, R.; Theodore Buczkowski, D.

Eighth-Walter Sekula, R.; George S. W. Spaide.

Ninth-Francis B. Bodine, R.; S. V. Waddy, D.

Tenth-Samuel J. Edwards, R.; Edward J. Fox, Sr., D.

Eleventh - Howard Firth, R.; Charles T. Johnston, D.

Twelfth-John T. Rodan, R.; Wilbert H. Joslin, D.

Thirteenth-William P. Cotter, R.; Frank E. Zimmerman, D.

Fourteenth-Charles H. Genther, R.; George E. Brunner, D.

Camden Courier-Post - June 9, 1933


Gerald F. Nallen has been elected president of the Fourteenth Ward Republican Club.

Ruben Filddler was chosen vice-president. Other officers are Victor Gondolf, financial secretary; Robert Cardwell, recording secretary; Charles H. Genter, treasurer. The board of trustees includes Fred Schuerman, S. John Donald, Richard Gondolf, Frank Gondolf, Albert Wise, Martine Devine and William Williams.